Review of Ezra L.C.’s Ignition

http://www.amazon.com/Ignition-The-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B00715FMO6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1365556796&sr=8-1&keywords=Ignition+Ezra+L.C.

Book Description from Amazon
Publication Date:January 23, 2012
The last half of your senior year of high school is supposed to be easy. Jes Anderson was looking forward to a relaxing final semester, followed by a lazy summer before heading off to college. Instead, she’s been having nightmares of fire and brimstone, while her best friend Amanda is harassing her to find a boyfriend. As if that weren’t annoying enough, a group of students from a rival town is temporarily transferred to Jes’ high school. Despite herself, she can’t help but take an interest in Seth Thomas. Jes can tell there is something unusual about him. But what exactly? He’s handsome and charming on the surface but Jes can’t quite figure out if she likes him or hates his guts. And he seems to be hiding something. So much for an easy semester.

This is a weird one for me. I’m going to start with the negatives first in this review, which is a little backwards for me. I usually want people to read all about what I like about a book first. That being said, you have to promise that if you read the negatives, then you absolutely MUST proceed to the positives! Otherwise, you’ll be greatly deceived about my overall opinion on this book.

Negatives
Okay, so here’s the bad for me. The first thing is Jes’s character seems to do a flip flop for me at the beginning of the book. At first she seems like a timid, quiet, book worm, but then she does this 180 & she’s one tough chick. She still holds onto a little of the girl she starts out as, but she still seems almost like a different person. I suppose boys can do that to you, or yes, even girls. Which brings me to the next thing I didn’t care for. There’s a little bit of lesbian action that takes place. It’s just not my thing. That’s me, though. There are no sex scenes in the book, just make-out sessions. Also, for any mom’s wanting to know what to expect for their teen readers at home, there’s a bit of foul language and some very violent scenes.
I think the kindle version could definitely have used a little more editing, but it wasn’t so much that it took away from the book. There was a scene or two that seemed a little unbelievable to me. Lastly, there were plenty of times that the characters got on my nerves, BUT it was typical teenage behavior and realistic.

Positives
So, my “negatives” list is pretty long. Here’s the kicker – I STILL COULDN’T PUT THE BOOK DOWN!!! I know, crazy right? It irked me in so many ways, but yet Ezra must have been brilliant, because I couldn’t stop reading. Ezra keeps taking you through all these twists and turns, and you just can’t figure out where it’s all going to end & you feel like you HAVE to know! This is sci-fi, romance & suspense all in one!!

I had to look and see if the next book was out in the Ignition Trilogy, and discovered the Ignition Trilogy FB page. Ezra is looking to have the next book Backdraft out sometime this spring. He’s currently looking for someone who speaks fluent Portuguese to help out. If that’s you, you can message him on FB. I wonder where the Portuguese will come into play…

I LOVE comments, so please say “HI”!!

Happy Reading,
Alison

Leave a Reply

