Review ~ Ignite (Midnight Fire, #1) by Kaitlyn Davis

http://www.amazon.com/Ignite-Midnight-Fire-Series-ebook/dp/B005U8GQT6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1366497037&sr=8-1&keywords=Ignite

Blurb:

“With one last look, one final search of the lines of his face for some sign, Kira turned and ran away from the sound of the man she loved laughing in the face of her death.”

When Kira Dawson moves to South Carolina, she meets Luke, a blond goofball who quickly becomes her best friend, and Tristan, a mysterious bad boy who sends shivers down her spine. Kira knows they’re keeping secrets, but when she discovers Tristan’s lust for blood and her own dormant mystical powers, Kira is forced to fight for her life and make the heartbreaking decision between the familiar comfort of friendship and the fiery passion of love.

My Review:
Ignite (Midnight Fire, #1)Ignite by Kaitlyn Davis
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Warning!! This review contains some SPOILERS.
I’m really not sure where to start with this one. First I should say, that overall I liked it, and I want to continue reading the series. Now, that being said there were some things that bugged me, or that I would change.
Kira, Tristan & Luke are the stars of the show. Luke is Kira’s best friend & of course, he has a problem with the boyfriend. Overall, I like Kira’s character, but sometimes I thought she didn’t act like a normal girl head over heels for a guy. I was always surprised that she would be so concerned about Luke, while seemingly so in love with Tristan. This wouldn’t be necessarily surprising with someone older, but definitely not typical of a teenage girl. I didn’t feel like the whole love story with her & Tristan had enough build up for my liking, either. One moment they just wouldn’t work out, and the next there was no turning back. I like the plot, but there were a few times that things seemed a bit unbelievable. For instance, I had a hard time with her waking up from a 3-month coma, and no big deal was made of it. I also expected a big deal when she didn’t come home among other things. It would often be stated that a big deal was made, but there weren’t enough details. Kira said she was stared at for being the “girl in the coma”, but that would be about it. Maybe it’s just that the story felt a bit rushed to me. I would have liked to have seen the story in much greater detail.
I love Tristan’s character. I wouldn’t change him and his brooding ways. And, for the most part I wouldn’t change Luke. Luke is built up as this really great guy with a huge heart, but then once or twice it’s hinted at that he may have a dark side. I don’t think that really fits him & that bugs me. I definitely get the whole love triangle thing. I imagine it would be hard not to form an attachment on Luke’s part. I’m curious how Kira is going to react to him in the next book, with her being away with him for 2 whole months. I’m also very curious about how Kira’s mom will come into play.
Despite the issues I had with it, I’ll still be coming back for more. It definitely didn’t suck in my book. I really just wanted more of it!

View all my reviews

About the Author:

Kaitlyn Davis graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Johns Hopkins University with a B.A. in Writing Seminars. She’s been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to finally share her work with the world. She currently lives in New York City and dreams of having a cockapoo puppy of her own.

Wanna find Kaitlyn?

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5276341.Kaitlyn_Davis

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KaitlynDavisBooks

Blog: http://kaitlyndavisbooks.blogspot.com/

Have you read Ignite? What did you think? Are you going back for more like me?

Happy Reading,
Alison

Leave a Reply

