Review ~ Shattered Promises by Jessica Sorensen

Shattered Promises (Shattered Promises, #1)Shattered Promises by Jessica Sorensen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Oh, WOW!! Jessica did it again! I absolutely fell in love with the Fallen Star Series when it came out & I was thrilled when I heard Jessica was rewriting the series. I wasn’t disappointed!!! This was Fallen Star gone to college & ready for some action!! And it was HOT!!!

If you haven’t read the Fallen Star Series, then my review isn’t going to be for you. All my thoughts are in comparing the two. I really can’t say how I would have taken this book without having the background from the YA version. That would be too hard for me to discern. It amazes me, though, how Jessica can suck you right into another world that doesn’t exist & you never question it.

Okay, so instead of high school, Gemma runs into Alex while in college. They send off electricity just like in high school, but on a whole new sexual level. The scenes leading up to the deed will leave you panting. Really HOT!! One thing on this note that bugged me, though, was her interaction with Laylen. I really wish Jessica wouldn’t have taken things quite so far between Gemma & him. What can I say??? I’m a sucker for Alex!!!

So, comparing the two. Well, let’s say they are the same, and oh so different. The basic plot is all the same, but Jessica goes as far as changing the scenes, bringing more details and violence. Then add in all the sexual tension – and there’s a lot with Gemma trying to make up for all her time emotionless – you have this whole new story. It’s definitely worth the read even if you’ve read the Fallen Star Series already.

So far I haven’t read a Sorensen novel that I haven’t LOVED!! I can’t wait for Fractured Souls in June!!

View all my reviews

Since it Teaser Tuesday, here’s a couple I LOVED:

“I’m pretty sure my heart stops, dies in my chest and ceases to exist.”

“You want to know something real about me, Gemma? I’m empty. Dead. Completely numb inside, except for when I’m around you. I’m hot and cold because I try to fight my feelings, because that’s what I’m supposed to do – that’s the right thing to do.”

Happy Reading,
Alison

Leave a Reply

