Gypsy Spirits Blog Tour & Giveaway

Author: Marianne Spitzer
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: April 2012
Genre: Paranormal/Mystery

Purchase Link:
Amazon


Synopsis: Spirits? Madness? Which haunts Daniel? His teenage bride, Annamarie, must answer the question while she deals with her husband’s controlling behavior and abnormal fear of spirits he believes exist in the surrounding woods near their home. During an argument, her anger erupts and she yells a few odd words at her husband, Daniel, which she explains is her Gypsy curse. A bad day at work convinces him the curse is real, but after the brutal death of his best friend, his belief in the curse and his terror of the spirits escalates. Annamarie begins to have foreshadowing dreams of a young Gypsy girl who resembles her in every way. As the dreams become more vivid and frequent, Annamarie begins to fear her utterance of a Gypsy curse may have brought spirits into their lives. When they both have the same dream, she believes Daniel’s fears may be real. They feel they may be close to answers when a human killer enters their lives. With two battles to wage they must stand strong together. Frightening events spiral out of control and Annamarie must fight for her husband’s safety, his sanity, and her own.

Praise:
“…the characters immediately grabbed my attention. People were dying and mysterious things were occurring. This kindled my curiosity. As I got deeper into the book, the plot became more and more twisted. Then the story wouldn’t let go of me. I’m normally pretty good at figuring out how stories are going to end, but this time I wasn’t. I congratulate the author for having me completely fooled as to how the book was going to end. Not many can do that, so I look forward to reading more from this author.” – Lisa on Amazon

“Highly recommend this book. Excellent story mixing love, family matters, mystery and spirits. The end will really surprise you as it did me.” – Carolyn on Amazon

Excerpt:
The camp-fire cast shadows on the old wagons parked nearby. An elderly man sat on a barrel, playing a violin. Other men and women sat near the fire clapping to the music floating on the night air. A dark haired young girl danced around the flames, her bright green eyes sparkling in the firelight. She was clad in a long dress of many colors, sewn by hand, colored ribbons pulled up her hair. She smiled and held her hand out to Annamarie.

Annamarie woke screaming.

Jolted from his sleep, Daniel jumped out of bed. “What the hell’s the matter with you?”

She sat up in the middle of the bed, her voice anxious, “I had a nightmare. I saw myself dancing, but I also saw myself watching me dance. Then the one dancing held out her hand to me.”

“Creepy!” Daniel started to laugh, “Serves you right for putting a curse on me.”

“I didn’t put a curse on you. It was just gibberish because you had me so upset. I’m not a Gypsy, so how could I do that? I only wanted to get your attention.”

“You’re going crazy. Don’t I have enough trouble with the spirits without you bringing a new one? What if the spirits here don’t like you summoning Gypsy spirits?”

“I don’t understand why you’re acting this way. You were so different last night. Why have you changed again? You’re the one losing your mind. There are no spirits in the woods, and I certainly didn’t conjure up any.”

My Review:
My oldest son is one to complain about most stories being so predictable. Many stories tend to have two characters that endure some great conflict but endure through the tough times to achieve their happily ever after. If you’re looking for something different from the norm, then this is your book!! It was very original and very unpredictable. The ending will leave you reeling!!

Annamarie and Daniel just got married, and they are very young. Annamarie’s in love with Daniel, but he just married her because his parents pressured him into it. Why? Not for the traditional reason of her being pregnant. His parents are hoping that marriage will settle him down and help him forget all his nonsense about spirits. Their new marriage is extremely explosive to say the least, and not in a good way. Things quickly change, though, when Daniel’s friends start dying. Annamarie and Daniel grow closer through the trials they face, and Annamarie gains new hope in their relationship.

I was intrigued right from the start of this book. There were a few confusing areas in trying to understand the relationship between Annamarie and Daniel, but not enough to turn me off. I kept reading and slowly things started to make more sense. The dialogue seemed a little unnatural at times and didn’t seem to fit a couple teenagers. Then there were times that I really enjoyed the exchanges between the characters. I found a couple scenes hilarious. The plot was always intriguing enough to keep me reading through the rougher spots.

Annamarie’s character was well-developed, although she aggravated me in the beginning. It was her youth shining through. Her personality didn’t flip all over the place, but there were times when Daniel’s obsession made her snap. Daniel, on the other hand, seemed to change like day and night. You get the sense that his extreme paranoia contributed to this, so it didn’t seem too far-fetched. There were a couple scenes that didn’t seem necessary to the plot, and I didn’t understand the point of them, but they were short and not too distracting. As a warning, let me note here that the story contained some strong language, talk of rape, and one very bloody scene.

Overall, it was an easy read and it kept me to the point of wanting to know more. Although I felt there were some areas that could have been improved on, I still enjoyed it, and I’m looking forward to reading the sequel. I was left wanting to know what’s next for Annamarie. I rate it a solid 3 stars!

About the Author:

I was born in Milwaukee, and lived there until I was eighteen. Then I spent eight years in Washington state and California before returning to Wisconsin. I love eerie places and books. I began with a love of Nancy Drew books and as I grew I found H.P Lovecraft, Agatha Christie, and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle among others. When I am not writing, I am reading or watching sunsets. I have been writing short stories since I was in grade school. Most were in the form of essays relating real life events. Many were purely imaginary trips to magical places and times. I enjoy making up stories about people I meet or see on the street. I can see a story in a picture, especially if the picture is eerie. My imagination runs wild and free. I have self-published a book of essays and a book of children’s stories for my granddaughter, Brittney. Gypsy Spirits is my debut novel and the first in the series of three “spirit” books. I have self-published the second “spirit” book, Annamarie and Magdalena. I also self-published a supernatural mystery, THE LETTER. I plan to have the sequel to THE LETTER out this year and the third “spirit” book available winter 2013/14. From there I am sure my muse will guide me into another story plot.

Marianne Spitzer’s Books: mariannespitzer@gmail.com

Now for the GIVEAWAY!!!
One winner will receive an ebook copy of Gypsy Spirits!!
Just click on the link to get to the form!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.*
Happy Reading,

Alison

5 thoughts on “Gypsy Spirits Blog Tour & Giveaway

  1. Pingback: Annamarie and Magdalena Book Tour & Giveaway | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

