Review ~ Sophie’s Turn by Nicky Wells

sophiesturn
SOPHIE’S TURN

Series: Rock Star Romance Trilogy, Part 1
Publisher: Sapphire Star Publishing
Publication Date: 5 September 2012
ISBN: 978-1-938404-20-7
Number of Pages: 412
Format: Paperback and e-book
Excerpt: http://nickywellsklippert.wordpress.com/preview-chapters-2/

Synopsis

So the rock star wants to marry her, but she’s already engaged…

Slapper? Slut? Adulteress? Sophie Penhalligan’s life and moral universe is turned upside down when rock star Dan proposes to her in full knowledge that she is already engaged. She has always loved Dan, in a remote-crush kind of way. She thinks she loves her fiancé, Tim. What is she to do?

It’s all happening because her past has come to tempt her. Nine years ago, she met her teenage idol and rock star extraordinaire, Dan Hunter, up close and personal. Well, almost!

Now Dan has crash-landed back in her life just as Sophie is happily embroiled in a relationship with Tim, her boyfriend of two years. Until recently, she was confident Tim would eventually propose. But while his persistent inaction is beginning to cast a cloud over their relationship, Dan’s sudden reappearance poses a whole new dilemma.

Having accompanied Dan’s band to Paris, Sophie suddenly finds herself engaged to Dan while her erstwhile fiancé Tim is… well, doing whatever it is Tim does back in London. Torn between the dream-come-true and the sensible-thing-to-do, Sophie concludes her inadvertent journey of self-discovery with an ending that surprises herself, and everyone around her.

Sophie’s Turn is a glamorous contemporary fairy tale that will make chick-lit and romance lovers laugh, cry and rock along every step of the way.

AMAZON.CO.UK | AMAZON.COM| BARNES & NOBLE

My Review

4 STARS!!! A very unique rocker love story!!

Sophie Penhalligan is in a relationship with Tim Renfrew. She feels like the proposal is on the way,and she’s ready. Or, she thinks she is. She has a huge problem, though. Tim can do the most outrageously wonderful things, but Sophie can’t stop daydreaming about her past encounter with Dan Hunter, lead singer of her favorite rock band, Tuscq. Dan is completely in the past, though, and Tim is her future. Well, that’s what she keeps telling herself until Dan resurfaces in her life. Sophie finds herself playing both sides and with no clue what to do about it.

Sophie’s Turn grabbed my attention right from the start and never let go. This says a lot about the writing, because I found that I really didn’t like Sophie so much. Yet, I found myself caring about her. It has a nice smooth pace throughout and never drags. The characters were well-developed, and the plot was very unique.

So, Sophie is the big cheater. I found her seriously getting on my nerves before she even got close to doing the deed, though. Tim would do something completely amazing (like embarassing himself in front a whole restaurant) to make Sophie happy. Was Sophie happy? Well, maybe for a minute, but then she was back to daydreaming about Dan. Of course this just all got much worse. I didn’t particularly care for Tim, and yet felt he deserved so much better.

Now, despite disapproving of so much Sophie did (and didn’t do), I was surprised to find that I still cared for her. I still found myself encouraging her and rooting her on. I constantly found myself laughing out loud, too. I found Sophie, her bff Rachel, and Dan all amusing.

Now Dan, he was quite interesting himself. I saw so much potential, but still so much growing up that needed to be done. I felt in the end Sophie made the right decision, even if I think she lacked some in the remorse department. I’m very much looking forward to seeing where things lead for Sophie and Dan! I think I surprised myself at how much I liked the book after hating Sophie in the first few chapters!!!

So, 4 STARS!!!! I really liked the writing style, and I couldn’t stop turning the pages. I’m looking forward to Sophie’s Run and Sophie’s Encore!!!

nickywells

About Nicky Wells: Romance that Rocks Your World!

Hi! I’m Nicky Wells, your ultimate rock chick author. Signed to US Publisher, Sapphire Star Publishing, I write Romance That Rocks Your World, featuring the rock star and the girl next door.

My books offer glitzy, glamorous contemporary romance with a rock theme ~ imagine Bridget Jones ROCKS Notting Hill! If you’ve ever had a crush on any kind of celebrity ~ rock, pop, movie or other ~ you’ll connect with my heroes and my leading ladies!

Like my first leading lady, Sophie, I love listening to rock music, dancing, and eating lobsters. When I’m not writing, I’m a wife, mother, occasional knitter, and regular contributor to The Midweek Drive show on Lincoln’s Siren 107.3 FM. Rock on!

Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Romantic Novelists’ Association | Sapphire Star Publishing | Amazon | Goodreads | Pinterest

Happy Reading,

Alison

6 thoughts on “Review ~ Sophie’s Turn by Nicky Wells

  1. Hiya Alison ~ wow, what can I say but ‘thank you’ for sharing your thoughts. I’m thrilled that Sophie captivated and made you laugh out loud you even though you didn’t like her very much to begin with. In fact, that really makes my day! I hope you enjoy the onwards journey of Sophie and Dan just as much, and thanks again for hosting your review here today. Rock on!

    • Yes, I could see an onward journey between them, and I have my hopes about them. I just didn’t want to give too much away in the review. I wanted to leave some surprises about how things turn out and where they’re going.
      It definitely says something about your writing when I could dislike Sophie so much, but then found myself caring about her!! Can’t wait to read the next one!

  2. Pingback: Review ~ Sophie’s Run by Nicky Wells | Ali's Books

  3. Pingback: Review ~ Sophie’s Encore (Rock Star Romance #3) | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

