Review ~ Secrets and Lies (a Cassie Scot novel)

secretsandlies

Official Home Page

Goodreads

Release Date: October 2013

Blurb

Cassie Scot, still stinging from her parents’ betrayal, wants out of the magical world. But it isn’t letting her go. Her family is falling apart and despite everything, it looks like she may be the only one who can save them.
To complicate matters, Cassie owes Evan her life, making it difficult for her to deny him anything he really wants. And he wants her. Sparks fly when they team up to find two girls missing from summer camp, but long-buried secrets may ruin their hopes for happiness.

Read the first chapters HERE!!

My ****4 Star**** Review

First, let me say that this is the second book in the Cassie Scot series. If you haven’t read the first book – STOP HERE!! This book picks up right after the first and will definitely spoil things for you. You can check out my review on the first book HERE.

So, after the big cliffhanger at the first one, things start pretty calmly in book 2. Evan’s father, Victor, and Evan’s best friend/cousin, Scott Lee, both think that Evan should just force Cassie to marry him. Evan on the other hand realizes that he has botched the proposal by making it sound like a command. He wants Cassie to come to him rather than forcing his hand.

Cassie is still quite determined to figure things out for herself. She gets a job at Kaitlin’s Diner, but that job doesn’t last long at all. This leaves Cassie in an even worse predicament, but then it turns out both her family and Evan’s need her. Two teenage girls have gone missing from a summer camp. One is a distant Scot cousin, while the other is a distant Blackwood cousin.

After taking on the case, Sheriff Adams finds he needs her expertise back on the job for an entirely different matter. Oh, and something is very wrong with her family. He mother has become extremely ill among other issues.

Now for my opinion… I’ll start with what I felt was the most improved upon – the mystery. I really enjoyed the cases that Cassie was a part of. The right amount of clues were given to keep you guessing, but not so much that I could figure things out. I’m usually not a mystery person, but I was intrigued!

Okay, so I’m a big sucker for a love story, and you can really feel the love between Cassie and Evan. Cassie will finally admit her feelings for Evan, but there’s something BIG keeping them apart. This BIG something leaves you with another whopper of a cliffhanger, and now I’m left freaking out about the finish!! Too bad I can’t say more here – you’ll just have to read it!!

So, if you enjoyed the first story, I definitely think you’ll enjoy this one. The mystery was even better in this second book. What makes this a 4 star rather than a 5 star for me? Well, a 5 star for me is something the touches me in such a strong way, the it just won’t leave me. The one thing that was missing for me that would have boosted this on up there was emotions. Now don’t get me wrong, I laughed, I felt scared, there were times I felt my heart melting, and others I felt my heart breaking. The story definitely evoked emotions in me! But, it just isn’t one of those stories that evokes extreme emotions. Just for the record, I don’t think every story should. I thoroughly enjoyed the story, and I can’t come up with anything I’d change. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book!! There are four books to this series, and they have all been written. Christine hopes to have all four out by next summer. We can also expect a spin-off on Madison. If we’re lucky we’ll get one on Kaitlin, too!
*I recieved a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.*

Teasers

•There is more romance in this book than in the first.
•Cassie will learn something about her mom that she never knew before.
•Madison and Kaitlin will both become more important, developing subplots of their own (that will eventually spin off into their own novels).
•Angie is not in this book.
•Long-time enemies Victor Blackwood (Evan’s father) and Edward Scot (Cassie’s father) will meet face to face in this book. The results may be explosive.
•You will learn a bit more about why Victor and Edward hate one another.

About the Author


Christine Amsden has been writing science fiction and fantasy for as long as she can remember. She loves to write and it is her dream that others will be inspired by this love and by her stories. Speculative fiction is fun, magical, and imaginative but great speculative fiction is about real people defining themselves through extraordinary situations. Christine writes primarily about people and it is in this way that she strives to make science fiction and fantasy meaningful for everyone.

Christine currently lives in the Kansas City area with her husband, Austin, who has been her biggest fan and the key to her success. They have two beautiful children.

Goodreads * Website * Twitter

Happy Reading,

Alison

4 thoughts on “Review ~ Secrets and Lies (a Cassie Scot novel)

  1. Thank you so much for another wonderful review! I’m glad you liked this story, and I agree — the mystery is better. I won’t bore you with the reasons I think I was able to improve that aspect, but I do think you’re right. As for the romance…(evil cackle)… Wasn’t it mean what I did to them at the end?

    Mind Games tentatively scheduled for April 2015, according to an e-mail from my publisher earlier this week. Mind Games is… different. I don’t think it’s going to go in the direction anyone is expecting.

    Thanks again!

    • You’re so very welcome! YES – totally mean!! You’re SCARING me with the whole, “I don’t think it’s going to go in the direction anyone is expecting.” I can’t wait, though!

      • Mind Games scared me a bit too at times. There were a few moments when I wasn’t sure I could get Evan and Cassie back together. But there are *four* books, not three, so have faith!

        I need to work on a back of the book blurb for Mind Games soon. Here’s my first attempt, to give you an idea where I’m going (it needs some work, I know):

        “Following events in Secrets and Lies, Cassie remains heartbroken over her breakup with Evan. Not understanding why makes it all the worse. Swooping in to help take her mind off of him is a new romantic interest — Matthew Blair, a mind mage. Cassie finds him compelling and very difficult to resist.

        Meanwhile the town of Eagle Rock is going crazy. Cassie is investigating the murder of a local practitioner when the wife of a respected preacher is killed in a terrible house fire. All evidence points to a magic user. The members of that church began to riot, demanding justice, but justice looks a lot like a good old-fashioned witch hunt.”

        Ouch… okay, give me two more drafts. That’s how many it usually takes. 🙂

      • Oh my! It sounds like a book that I’ll have a love/hate relationship with. I can’t believe she’s gonna get hooked up with a Blair! I soooo hope you’ll fix Cassie & Evan!! Can’t I have a say – JK!! Can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

