Review ~ The Warlock (Waterspell #1)

warlock

Blurb

Drawn into the schemes of an angry wizard, Carin glimpses the place she once called home. It lies upon a shore that seems unreachable. To learn where she belongs and how to get there, the teenage traveler must decipher the words of an alien book, follow the clues in a bewitched poem, conjure a dragon from a pool of magic — and tread carefully around a seductive but volatile, emotionally scarred sorcerer who can’t seem to decide whether to love her or kill her.

My ***3 STAR*** Review

Okay, I often give my own small blurb about a book at the start of a review, but I’ll spare you this time. I’m sure you are capable of reading the blurb for yourself, and after reading my review, hopefully you’ll see that I ENCOURAGE you to make sure you read it!

After reading the first chapter, I was very intrigued. I could tell right away that this book would be different from the norm. I wasn’t disappointed as far as that goes! You quickly learn that there’s a big connection with Carroll’s Through the Looking-Glass. The whole story is full of magic and mystery! Carin finds herself in one predicament after another. There were a couple times that I questioned Verek’s actions, but they later made sense.

After I’d finished a quarter of the book, I still found myself intrigued, but I wouldn’t say so much that I couldn’t put the book down. There were times when I felt the slightest bit of excitement that the warlock Verek may be falling for Carin. Then that idea would be squashed. I would have saved myself a lot of trouble if I would have read the blurb. I typically do not read them because I like to be surprised. But, I felt something was missing with the story. I felt that Carin and Verek should be drawn together, and I’d see hints of it happening. There was no real hope, though. I must confess here that I scrolled to the end of book 2 to see if my hopes had any foundation. All I had to do was read the blurb, though. Now in hindsight, I’d just say that the one thing that would have made this a 4 star book for me would have been for the signs of something blooming between Verek and Carin to have been a bit stronger. Not too strong, just enough to be sure that’s where the story was heading – without having to read the blurb (or in my case – skimming the end of the second book). I needed a clearer picture of the conflict.

The story dragged a little for me about three-quarters of the way through, but this probably wouldn’t have been the case if I knew where the story was going at the time. One thing I want to comment on, although irrelevant to many I’m sure, is that I thoroughly enjoyed the way Verek studied Through the Looking-Glass – going so far as to reinact the chess game. Being a book lover, I loved this. Okay, I confess, I can be a bit of a nerd.

Things started picking up for me rather quickly after the slight slump. I found myself thoroughly engrossed in the story after Carin finds a book that reveals a lot of Verek’s past. From that point on I couldn’t put the book down. As far as the ending goes – I would have been dying if I didn’t already have the second book loaded onto my kindle. I had to IMMEDIATELY open it to see what was happening!

So, I give it a rating of 3 stars. I’m 17% of the way through the second book right now, and I’m very much looking forward to the rest of the series. Now that I have a clear picture of the main conflict (between Carin and Verek), I expect to enjoy the rest of it even more. For a first book (in this genre), I think it is great! I look forward to future stories!

Check out my previous tour post HERE for links on where to find the books or to follow the author.
*I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.*

About the Author

DeborahLightfoot
Castles in the cornfield provided the setting for Deborah J. Lightfoot’s earliest flights of fancy. On her father’s farm in Texas, she grew up reading tales of adventure and reenacting them behind ramparts of sun-drenched grain. She left the farm to earn a degree in journalism and write award-winning books of history and biography. High on her Bucket List was the desire to try her hand at the genre she most admired. The result is WATERSPELL, a multi-layered fantasy about a girl and the wizard who suspects her of being so dangerous to his world, he believes he’ll have to kill her … which troubles him, since he’s fallen in love with her. Waterspell Book 1: The Warlock; Waterspell Book 2: The Wysard; and Waterspell Book 3: The Wisewoman.

Happy Reading,

Alison

One thought on “Review ~ The Warlock (Waterspell #1)

  1. Pingback: Reviews ~ Waterspell: The Wysard & The Wisewoman | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

