#COYER ~ Review: Afterlife Academy by Jaimie Admans

Thanks for stopping by to check out my second Clean Out Your E-Reader Challenge review! I was pleasantly surprised with this one! Hope you like the review!!
afterlifeacademy

Title: Afterlife Academy
Author: Jaimie Admans
Genre: YA Paranormal/Romance

Blurb

Even being dead isn’t enough to get you out of maths class.

Dying wasn’t on sixteen-year-old Riley Richardson’s to-do list. And now, not only is she dead, but she’s stuck in a perpetual high school nightmare. Worse still, she’s stuck there with the geekiest, most annoying boy in the history of the world, ever.

In a school where the geeks are popular and just about everything is wrong, Riley has become an outcast. She begins a desperate quest to get back home, but her once-perfect life starts to unravel into something not nearly as great as she thought it was. And maybe death isn’t really that bad after all…

Welcome to Afterlife Academy, where horns are the norm, the microwave is more intelligent than the teachers, and the pumpkins have a taste for blood.
amazonbutton

add to goodreads

My ****4 Star**** Review

Riley thought she had it all. She was the most popular girl in school, dated the most popular boy in school, and everyone wanted to be her. One car accident resulting in her death and Anthony’s, a guy she has relentlessly bullied, changes everything. Riley quickly finds herself being on the reciprocal end of things as she starts her new “life” at Afterlife Academy. Anthony quickly becomes the popular guy, but he wholeheartedly forgives her. Now Riley has to come to grips with who she was versus who she wants to be.

I really enjoyed this one. When I first started reading, I thought it might get a bit cheesy. However, it never really felt that way to me. Now I would firmly seat this one in the YA section, so if you’re looking for a more adult novel, then this probably isn’t for you. There’s a little bit of sexual content (not much), but no actual sex. As a matter of fact, it seemed obvious that Riley not only starts out a virgin but stays that way. There is a little bit of cursing. I think the F Bomb is dropped twice, but other than that there’s not a lot of it in the book. If you have a YA at home and are wondering if this is for them, I would HIGHLY recommend it if the cursing and sexual content (it’s really not much) can be overlooked. This book has an amazing lesson for teens and bullying! Not just that, but it’s a great influence on their relationships with their parents, too. You really get to see the struggles and regrets Riley goes through as a result of her selfish and often cruel ways. It truly has an amazing message! Plus there’s an absolutely adorable romance to go with it. You could not find two more opposite characters from Riley and Anthony, but Anthony’s character is so amazingly forgiving and understanding. He’s not perfect either, though, and that helps make his character believable.

When I started seeing where the story was going, I really thought it was going to be very predictable. That turned out not to be the case, though. The ending did fit one of the scenarios I came up with, but there was also a surprise that I didn’t see coming.

I also want to point out that I found myself laughing often. Overall, it was a bit on the heavy side, but it was lightened up with some of the hilarious things Riley tried to do to get sent back home. Or at least, she hoped it’d get her sent back home.

The story needed a little bit more editing. It wasn’t so bad that it distracted from the story, though. And, considering I picked it up for FREE from Amazon (I think it’s priced at only $0.99 now – so worth it), I really won’t complain! There were also a couple times I didn’t understand some of the terminology – the English wasn’t American English, or rather something wasn’t said the way we say it in America. Again, though, it take away from the story for me.

I give this a strong 4 stars and recommend it to anyone that enjoys sweet YA romances or real-life struggles of teens and bullying. I also recommend it for those moms out there looking for books for their teen daughters that have a good message. This was my first Jaimie Admans book, so I’m really looking forward to reading more from her!!

About the Author ~ Jaimie Admans

jaimie

Jaimie is a 27-year-old English-sounding Welsh girl with an awkward-to-spell name. She lives in South Wales and enjoys writing, gardening, drinking tea and watching horror movies. She hates spiders and cheese & onion crisps.

She has been writing for years, but has never before plucked up the courage to tell people. She writes mostly chick-lit and young adult. Kismetology is her first novel and there are plenty more on the way!

Clean out your E-Reader Challenge Banner

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Happy Reading,

Alison

8 thoughts on “#COYER ~ Review: Afterlife Academy by Jaimie Admans

    • Thanks! I completely agree! That especially stuck out to me with this being a YA book! I loved the message it had for teens – well, I’m sure most of us adults would change a lot, too, if we were in that situation and had to take a good look at our lives.

    • I was intrigued with the title, too. I have to admit, though, that the cover caught my attention first! So, with the cool cover & intriguing title, I couldn’t pass it up!

Leave a Reply

