Review ~ City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)

City of bones

Synopsis

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder — much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

amazonbutton
add to goodreads

My *****5 Star***** Review

Ok, WOW! I am still absolutely reeling from the ending!! This may seem like a spoiler to some, so if you don’t want to have any clue about the ending, scroll to the next paragraph. I feel like I’m teeter-tottering between 1 & 5 stars here! I absolutely HATED the ending!! That being said, it took pure writing brilliance to make me so passionate about it! I went so far as reading the synopsis of every other book in the series to see if the mistake (that’s what I’m calling it) is going to be fixed. Yeah, it bothered me that much!!

Ok, to those of you rejoining me here, the book was amazing. It’s not what I’d call a fast-paced book, but there’s a gradual building up that’s being done until the WHAM big climax at the end. I love that all of the characters have very distinct personalities and are all very well-developed, even the secondary characters.
The settings were easily pictured, and Clare was able to describe them and the characters in few words, but with big results. There’s never any struggling through long explanations or descriptions.

Having read Clockwork Angel, I did fear for a short time that Jace was just Will, or rather that their personalities were the same. I was concerned that I was just going to be reading about the exact same thing in a different setting, but that didn’t turn out to be the case at all. While there were a few similarites between Jace and Will (I do realize this may be irrelevant if you haven’t read Clockwork Angel), they both are two clearly separate personalities. Clary is great in that she’s not a complainer. She’s tough, yet has her human side, too. Then there’s poor Simon. How can you not feel bad for a guy in love with a girl who’s in love with another guy? Yet, he aggravated me, too. That helped some with feeling bad for him.

So, I highly recommend this to all you paranormal/fantasy lovers out there. There’s plenty of romance woven in to intrigue you romance lovers, but I’ll warn you that this isn’t a sappy romance if that’s what you’re looking for! As for me, I can’t wait to read the next book!! A very strong 5 STARS!!!!!

About the Author ~ Cassandra Clare

“Cassandra Clare was born overseas and spent her early years traveling around the world with her family and several trunks of fantasy books. Cassandra worked for several years as an entertainment journalist for the Hollywood Reporter before turning her attention to fiction. She is the author of City of Bones, the first book in the Mortal Instruments trilogy and a New York Times bestseller. Cassandra lives with her fiance and their two cats in Massachusetts.”

socialize
http://www.cassandraclare.com

I have a blog:
http://cassandraclare.livejournal.com/

and a Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/Cassandraclare

and a Twitter:
http://www.twitter.com/cassieclare

Happy Reading

Alison

