Book Blogger New Year’s Challenge 2014 ~ #2

Book Blogger New Year's Challenge
The Book Blogger New Year’s Challenge is hosted by Parajunkee.

{Day 2} YOUR PROS & CONS OF BLOGGING LIST

CONS

I’m going to start with the cons because I like to save the best for last! My biggest con is that blogging takes up so much of my day that I don’t get enough time to read. I homeschool my kids so that already takes up a portion of my time along with other household duties. My kids come first and then the blogging, so I don’t get enough time to actually read as I’d like.

Another con – just not having enough time in general: time to put together my blog posts, learn more about blogging, websites, graphics, etc, or time to make connections with other bloggers. I run my blog completely by myself, so it takes a LOT of time. Not to mention keeping up with Facebook, Twitter, and all the other social media sites related to my blog. I often harp on myself for not getting more accomplished when it’s really a wonder I get done what I do. I’d really love to find a like-minded person I could run this with, but I just haven’t found them yet.

My lack of knowledge itself is a con. Then if you add in the fact that I don’t think I’m overly creative (I’m talking graphics here), then that can be a big hindrance.

Next, this gig doesn’t pay much, and I’m talking money here (only). Now, don’t get me wrong, I love books and talking about books, and that’s why I do this – not for monetary gain. However, it’s a lot of work, and I’d love to be able to bring in more money. I had a great week this week, but there are many weeks when I see zero profit (again I’m talking $).

Last, hackers! Ugh! Despise me some hackers!! I had my site shut down for a couple weeks because of them. That was beyond horrible! This is another area where I’m hoping to greatly improve my knowledge!

PROS

Yea! Now I get to talk about all the things I love, and let me tell ya, I wouldn’t be spending this much time doing it if I didn’t LOVE it! Reading and talking about books is a passion for me! It can even often times be obsessive. I think my husband wonders when I’ll just open our home up as the next public library.

I started this as a way to discuss the books I love, or didn’t love, with others, and I get to do that. So many great things have come as a result of that! I have more books than I think I could possibly read in a lifetime! I often get sent books in the mail that I don’t even know where or whom they came from. Then if you mix in the giveaways associated with book blogs, I’ve gotten some great little prizes, not to mention the Amazon gift cards. Those gift cards have helped buy those books that I think I have to have. Plus, they’ve really helped me pass along more giveaways to all of you.

I also have a nice collection of autographed books started. Getting my autographed copy of Beautiful Disaster in the mail this year was a big highlight for me!

Then, I’d be a fool if I didn’t mention one of the most unexpected pleasures I’ve received out of blogging, and that’s the connections I’ve made with so many great authors out there. Some of them have seen me through some really tough patches this year and don’t even know it. It means the world to me when an author goes out of their way to show their appreciation.

Wrapping up, I love what I do! No it doesn’t pay much in cash, but the rewards are still great! Not once since I’ve started have I regretted it. I’ve only wished I had more time and more knowledge. Considering where I was when I first started and where I am now, I’ve come a long way! I am so thankful to those of you that took a chance on working with me when I first started out!

Happy Reading,

Alison

14 thoughts on “Book Blogger New Year’s Challenge 2014 ~ #2

  1. Great post. I totally agree, especially with the time part. I’ve been fortunate to only have to work part-time, but I’m probably changing jobs really soon and will be full-time, which will definitely be affecting the amount of time I blog and am able to read. I already stay up way to late as it is. Happy New Year!

    • Thanks! Wow. I visit your blog pretty regularly & I’m surprised you accomplish all you do with a part time job. Good luck with the new job! I’m sure it will put a damper on the blogging, but hopefully you’ll still find the time to make it all work. Happy New Year!!

  2. Time is definitely an issue for me as well. I work full time as a teacher and I have two kids. I’m betting this is a con for almost everyone in the blogging world unless they do it full time. I still love it though!
    Laura

    • Sounds like you’re in a very similar boat to me. I still put in well over 40 hrs a week, though (counting reading & blogging). I find I operate on very little sleep, though. I know time is a struggle for all us book bloggers, though. I’ve never heard a book blogger say they have plenty of time! Happy New Year and thanks for stopping by!

  3. I really enjoyed reading your pros and cons list. It’s strange to see that bloggers from larger blogs suffer the same as us smaller blogs sometimes!

    I love that you’re still extremely passionate about books and blogging despite the cons! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, I’ve noticed that, too. There are some differences, but it seems most of the issues are the same. I think needing more “time” seems to be the number one con overall that I’m seeing. It is definitely a passion!

    • Oh, cool! You certainly know what it’s like juggling the kids with the blogging then! My oldest is pretty independent, but my youngest two still need a good bit of guidance. Plus, if you add in all the extra-curricualar things… I’m sure you know how it is!

  4. You have such a cute blog! I agree with your lack of time and money. Those are huge cons that get in my way of blogging too. I love your point that with how much there is to do, itโ€™s amazing how much you get done! So true and I need to remember that more. But I love talking about books too so I keep up blogging for the same reason ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks so much! I needed to hear that, too! I tend to push and push myself thinking about all there is to do, and I usually don’t take notice of what I’ve managed to accomplish. It has to be the love of books that pushes us all! Happy New Year!

    • Thanks! I just read your Day 13 & 14 post. I’m always looking for ways to connect with other bloggers, so if you ever want to work together on something, just let me know!

Leave a Reply

