Book Blogger New Year’s Challenge – Day 7

Book Blogger New Year's Challenge
The Book Blogger New Year’s Challenge is hosted by Parajunkee.

{Day 7} TOP TEN BOOK BLOGGER PET PEEVES

This one will take a bit of thought! In general I LOVE what I do! It is an absolute passion, and I feel blessed everyday getting to do what I do! However, there are times when a thing or two bothers me, so I’m sure if I take a second to think, I can come up with 10 things I don’t like. Some of these aren’t about blogs in general – just concerning my own personal experience in blogging. So, here’s trying – in no particular order of how bothersome.

1. DRAMA ~ First, I’m so pleased that I haven’t gotten caught up in anything myself, but I see that could easily happen. Some people just enjoy calling others out on things, leaving others no choice but to be sucked up into something. That’s not my thing, and I hope if someone ever tried to insult me that I’ll have the strength to ignore it. I’ve felt bad for the countless others that responded while upset at being attacked and then regretted later stooping to the level of the instigator. I don’t know why some people feel the need to tear others down – whether it’s bloggers, authors, or readers. Personally, I prefer to encourage and build up others – that’s just me.

2. BIGGER IS BETTER ~ I’ve been sad to see a lot of bloggers feel the need to stop blogging because they can’t keep up with some other blogger(s). I can understand an author wanting to use only blogs that have thousands of followers versus hundreds (or even less), but that does not mean that such and such blog is better than the blog with fewer followers. It doesn’t mean that the large blog puts more heart into it than the small blog. Also, I don’t believe one blog is better than another because more money went into it. Some feel that way, though. This is not the mentality shared by all large blogs, and it’s not an attack on large blogs at all! Some of the larger blogs can be run by some of the most humble people. I also want to take a second here to thank all those authors and bloggers that were willing to work with me when I was just getting started and those still working with me when my blog is still young and small in comparison. We all had to start somewhere, and we all have our own individual goals.

3. SNOOTY AUTHORS ~ This is another one that I haven’t personally had to deal with – thank GOD! I have worked with many authors, and they have all been nothing but gracious. I am SO thankful for that! However, I have seen where other bloggers have shut down or just been in tears over the ugliness from some authors. For the most part, we get zero compensation working hard to promote authors and their books. Unless provoked by some ugliness on the bloggers behalf, I can’t understand anything short of appreciation. Again, this seems to be a rare occurrence, and I’m so greatful for all the awesomeness I’ve experienced through all the authors I’ve worked with.

4. NOT READING REVIEW POLICY ~ This is a simple one. I get lots of requests. I just ask that you read my policy before you send your request. Sometimes I think people just look for my email address and don’t take the time to read anything else. It really is a waste of time on your behalf and mine to send me requests for reviews on books that I clearly stated I’m not interested in. This doesn’t happen too often, but it does happen.

5. UNEDITED BOOKS ~ It really bugs me when I get a book that feels like it hasn’t been edited – at all. It makes it REALLY hard to say if the book will be any good or not once it is released in its final form. Now I’m not talking about a missed comma here or there, or even their instead of they’re every now and then. I’m talking about books that are so bad that I don’t know how to spell the characters names in my review because it changes constantly in the book. Or, I can’t get a clear picture in my mind of what the hero looks like because he started out with dark hair and half-way through the story he all of a sudden has bleach-blonde hair. Or even worse, the characters in the story start referring to something that they couldn’t even really be referring to because it hasn’t happened yet. It’s really hard to know how well I’m going to like a story if it still requires major editing.

6. HAVING TO TURN PEOPLE DOWN ~ I’m a people pleaser, so in general it bugs me to have to tell someone no. I’m getting better at saying it, but it still bothers me to have to. I can’t put out the quality of work I do, though, if the quantity is too great. It’s just little ole me putting all this together, reading all these books, and writing all these reviews. I can’t keep taking on more than I can actually accomplish.

7. UGLY REVIEWS ~ I don’t care for author/book bashing. If I see a review full of insults, then I just scroll on by. It’s not my thing. Someone’s heart was put into that story. That doesn’t mean I have to like it, but I think reviewers should be respectful and treat others the way they want to be treated.

8. BLOGS FULL OF ADS ~ I’ve visited some sites that are so full of ads that I can’t tell the difference between their own content and the ads. Plus, those sites tend to take so long to load that it’s not worth my time.

9. TOO HARD TO COMMENT ~ Some of the new programs some blogs are using for comments are so confusing, or I get error messages with them constantly.

10. HACKERS ~ These come in all shapes and sizes, but I HATE them all!

There you have it! Some of these were about blogs in general, while others were about my blog specifically, but that was the easiest way for me to come up with 10 things. As I mentioned before, I LOVE what I do, and rarely have a complaint about it!

Happy Reading,

Alison

4 thoughts on “Book Blogger New Year’s Challenge – Day 7

  1. I definitely agree with your pet peeves list. Luckily for me, I’ve never had to deal with the drama of the book blogging world, or snooty authors! Hopefully I won’t have to later on either! 🙂

    Oh hackers really get on my nerves. Fortunately, I haven’t experienced hacking on my current blog. I think I’d actually cry if it happened to me on this one after all the plugins I’ve installed!

Leave a Reply

