Book Blogger New Year’s Challenge – Day 13

Book Blogger New Year's Challenge
The Book Blogger New Year’s Challenge is hosted by Parajunkee.

{Day 13} Share a Blogger Horror Story

My blogger horror story is having my blog shut down without warning this past year.

I’ve heard of this happening to many, but I never really thought it would happen to me. When reading others’ stories, I’ve always read not to repost someone else’s posts too often. That seemed to be a big reason in having your blog shut down. Well, I had NEVER reposted anyone else’s posts. So, I was at a loss when it happened to me! I felt like crying! I spend well over 40 hours a week working on this blog, and it is a HUGE part of my life. I immediately contacted wordpress, but then I had to keep contacting them. In the end, it took a few weeks for them to get things straightened out, and all I got was a little apology with no real explanation as to what the problem was. It has by far been the biggest problem I’ve encountered as a blogger!

Do you have a horror story?

Happy Reading,

Alison

8 thoughts on “Book Blogger New Year’s Challenge – Day 13

  1. Oh, I’m so sorry this happened to you. It’s unfortunate that free wordpress and blogger can do whatever the hell they want with YOUR blog. The only people I heard this happen to were on Blogger and it was for erotic content. Even so…that’s what the 18+ disclaimers are for!

    • Thanks! Blogger does seem to have more problems with this than WordPress from what I’ve seen. It was one of the reasons I went with WordPress. I’ve been looking at starting my own website. I’m just still having a hard time with the $ out versus $ coming in. Plus, there’s so much to learn! I’ve been taking baby steps in that direction.

    • Thanks! Yes, I really would have appreciated them letting me know how the problem started. I originally got a message that my site was sharing spam, but when the guy from wordpress checked it out, he didn’t find anything wrong. So, no clue as to what happened or how to prevent it from happening in the future.

Leave a Reply

