Review ~ A January Bride (A Year of Weddings #2)

A January Bride

Blurb

Part of A Year of Wedding Novella series
In A January Bride by Deborah Raney, what will happen when novelist Madeleine Houser’s “pen pal” friendship with a lonely widower takes an unexpected turn?
Who can work in a house that’s overrun by contractors and carpenters? Not Madeleine Houser, a successful novelist who gladly accepts the help of her octogenarian friend, Ginny, to arrange for a temporary office in the charming bed and breakfast owned by Ginny’s friend, Arthur. Maddie’s never met the innkeeper – but a friendship grows between them as Maddie and Arthur leave messages for each other each day. To Maddie’s alternate delight and chagrin, she seems to be falling for the inn’s owner – a man who’s likely many years her senior – and who she’s never even met.
amazonbutton

My ****3 Star**** Review

I found A January Bride to be completely predictable, but still quite entertaining. It’s a sweet story and pretty light-hearted. I found Maddie quite likable and very relatable. She definitely came across as someone I’d want to befriend, and I found myself cheering her on, so to speak. Then there was Art. Art’s character wasn’t one that I found myself swooning over, and yet he felt perfect for Maddie. I just had one problem with his character. He had been struggling to overcome his past, and then WHAM, he was just over it. I would have liked to see the trasition take place slower.

Overall, it was a sweet and enjoyable story. I even found it comical at times. I’m definitely on the fence about whether it’s a 3 or 4 star book for me. The deciding factor was that I had trouble remembering the story to write this review, although I just recently finished reading it. I had to read through all my notes for the story to come back to me. It’s one I enjoyed while reading, but it didn’t stick with me. Do I regret spending my time reading it? No. Would I read more by this author? Definitely. Would I recommend it? Sure, to anyone just looking to get lost in a sweet and clean romance for a day. But, if you’re looking only for a 5 star read, then I wouldn’t say this is it.

Warnings: There are none. Unless, of course, you need to be warned that this book isn’t full of strong language and sexual content – if that’s your cup of tea. 🙂
*I received a copy of this book via NetGalley and Zondervan Fiction in exchange for an honest review.*

About the Author ~ Deborah Raney

Deborah Raney

DEBORAH RANEY’s first novel, A Vow to Cherish, inspired the World Wide Pictures film of the same title. Her books have since won the RITA Award, ACFW Carol Award, HOLT Medallion, National Readers’ Choice Award, Silver Angel, and have twice been Christy Award finalists. THE FACE OF THE EARTH released in May 2013 from Howard/Simon & Schuster, and SILVER BELLS released from Guideposts in October. Deb and her husband, Ken Raney, enjoy small-town life in Kansas. They are new empty nesters with four children and a growing quiver of grandchildren, all of whom live much too far away.

Website: http://www.deborahraney.com
Twitter: @authordebraney
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/DeborahRaney

Happy Reading,

Alison

Leave a Reply

