Review ~ Lady in Disguise by @wendy_vella

Lady in Disguise

Blurb

Desperate and penniless, Miss Olivia Langley is out of options. To ensure her family’s survival she and her sister decide to take a drastic step – they don masks and take to the road as highwaymen. Disaster strikes when, inside the first carriage they rob, they find the one man Olivia had hoped never to see again. Five years ago Lord William Ryder had broken Livvy’s heart. Now he has returned and she has a bad feeling that if anyone can succeed at unmasking her deepest secrets, it will be him.
Will knew his return would be greeted with both joy and resentment, but after five years of hard living he was ready to come home and take his place in society. He had never forgotten Olivia no matter how hard he’d tried, and whilst he hadn’t imagined she would welcome him with open arms, the hostility and anger she displays are at odds with the woman he once knew. It is not long before he realizes she’s living a dangerous lie, and now that he’s back, Will is determined to keep her safe and finally claim her for his own.
goodreads_icon
amazon

My ****4 Star**** Review

Lady in Disguise is a fast-paced and exciting read. I really enjoyed Olivia’s character. She’s full of stubborn pride and reluctant to hand her heart back over, although she may not have ever stopped loving Will in the first place. Her and her sisters have fallen on hard times and are desperate. Desperate times call for desperate measures, and Livvy’s up to the challenge. But, this means she finds herself in some dangerous heart-pounding predicaments. Not to mention, she’s up against a time period where women had certain roles to play.

At first I found myself upset with Will. I wanted him to have cared more for Livvy the first go around, but he totally redeemed himself. Let’s say Livvy was able to hold out on him a LOT longer than I would have been able to. Plus, when they are together it’s hard to ignore the fireworks.

I recommend this to all those that enjoy historical romance with a little bit of steaminess and excitement on the side. There are some downright frightening scenes, too, that give the story a deeper plot than your average romance novel. I look forward to reading about the other Langley sisters!!

Warnings: language, sexual content, near rape
*I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.*

About the Author ~ Wendy Vella

Wendy Vella
I’m a first generation Kiwi and was born and raised in the North Island of New Zealand. I grew up with beaches and rolling hills and a loud boisterous family that knew how to enjoy life. Married for 28 years to a wonderful man we have two children who have surprisingly morphed from vile teenagers into sane adults.
I love food of all descriptions but a particular favourite is roasted almond peanut slabs from Whittaker’s. My husband thinks I talk more than is strictly necessary and occasionally asks if I ever put any thought into what comes out of my head before he has to hear it.
For fun we like to get out on our bikes and ride a few miles and have some pretty outstanding scenery around here so it’s something I really enjoy. I read a lot. I’m not fussy about my genre choice, I like paranormal, contemporary, and historical.
I write most evenings in the lounge where my family watch TV. I put on my headphones and tap away on my laptop and it still means we’re all together and if they want my attention they simply wave a hand around or throw something!
My first taste of romance novels came when my mother removed my Jill’s Pony Club manual forcibly from my hands and replaced it with the a Mills & Boons (to broaden my mind of course) and I remember thinking the hero was one arrogant bastard who needed a swift kick but by the end I was as smitten as he. Intrigued, I then read These Old Shades by Georgette Heyer, a book my sister gave me, and the rest as they say is history. My love of the Regency Era started from that moment.
I love the secrets and nuances of that era, the scandals and dramas. It was an era that lent itself to romance and intrigue and because I’ve never experienced it first hand, nor has anyone else alive today, you get a certain amount of licence when you write about that time.
I wrote my first contemporary novel aged 19 and that will never see daylight I can assure you, but when I need a good laugh I drag it out of the shoe box it’s hidden in. I wrote my first historical novel at 23 but did not start to take my writing seriously until I joined Romance Writers of New Zealand.
This organization was responsible for my first foray into the world of competitions. I polished my manuscript and sent it in to be judged; I then sat back and waited for the phone to ring. I would win of course; I’d be offered a publishing contract and could give up my day job and start writing full time! I had it all planned. The phone however didn’t ring and the feed back was less than flattering in fact it made references to my editing abilities resembling a five year old child. So I realized I needed to learn my craft and that is what I did over the next few years, I also learnt to take criticism and rejection, all things necessary to get to the bigger goal.
I then attended a conference in 2011 where I was lucky enough to get the opportunity to pitch to my current editor and she asked for a partial and then the full manuscript and then offered for ‘The Reluctant Countess.’ I remember reading the acceptance email and then re-reading it twice before I started yelling. My family came running plus the two dogs and we all did a kind of busy happy dance together, it was a great moment!

Website: http://www.wendyvella.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6459297.Wendy_Vella
Twitter: @wendy_vella
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorWendyVella

Happy Reading,

Alison

Leave a Reply

