Review ~ Faelorehn – Book One of the Otherword Trilogy

Faelorehn
I never heard him come after me and even as I climbed the slope and stumbled onto our shaded back lawn, I didn’t look back. It was like the day the gnomes chased me all over again, but this time I was not escaping some horrible little creatures, I was fleeing from an incredibly good-looking guy who could very well understand me completely. I was either saving myself from that serial killer I always imagined lived down in the swamp, or I had finally gone over the deep end . . .

Meghan Elam has been strange her entire life: her eyes have this odd habit of changing color and she sees and hears things no one else does. When the visions and voices in her head start to get worse, she is convinced that her parents will want to drag her off to another psychiatrist. That is, until the mysterious Cade MacRoich shows up out of nowhere with an explanation of his own.

Cade brings her news of another realm where goblins and gnomes are the norm, a place where whispering spirits exist in the very earth, and a world where Meghan just might find the answers she has always sought.

goodreads_icon

amazon

My ***2 STAR*** Review

The beginning of the book felt like the author was trying to tackle a lot of issues – everything from gays/lesbians, bullying, and even autism. The problem was, a lot of what was being said was repetitious and didn’t have much to do with the story itself. I was literally past 30 percent of the book before I had any clue as to where the story was going, and it felt like almost none of the previous things had much to do with the story. It was like it took entirely too long to lay out the background information for the MC.
I think the biggest problem for me was the delay in entering Cade into the story. He MADE the story for me, but it took FOREVER for him to actually have a presence in the story. Then, once he was there, he was gone a good chunk of the time, so it again detracted from my overall enjoyment. I didn’t enjoy just reading about Meghan’s daily life.
So, what did I like about it? Well, I really, really liked Cade. When he was in the story, everything was better. It was more intriguing. I really craved for more time between Cade and Meghan. Prior to Cade, I didn’t have any sort of connection to Meghan, but with Cade, I could relate – usually.
But, when it came to the climax, I wondered if Meghan could have been any dumber. It was severely annoying. Then to make it worse, there was no big bang at the end that I so wanted to see.
Would I read the next book? I’m not sure. I’d have to read through the reviews and see how much of Cade I’d get. I’d also be interested in seeing if Meghan has matured at all.
Warnings: language, bullying, violence
*I received a copy via NetGalley and Indie Inked in exchange for an honest review.*

About the Author ~ Jenna Elizabeth Johnson

??????????????????????

Jenna Elizabeth Johnson has cherished her imagination since the day she discovered it (probably around the age of two) and has enjoyed the many adventures and retreats it has offered her since. Miss Johnson grew up and still resides on the Central Coast of California, the very place where the Legend of Oescienne began to blossom into the epic it has become. “The province of Oescienne is based primarily on the topography of this area, and some specific locations in the novel reflect actual sites. These places are dear to me, and I wanted to share their natural magic with those who might read my books.”

Miss Johnson has a BA in Art Practice with a minor in Celtic Studies from the University of California at Berkeley. It was during her time in college that she decided to begin her first novel, “One day it dawned upon me that if I didn’t write my stories down, then I would be the only one ever to enjoy them. Furthermore, reading such works as Beowulf, The Mabinogi and The Second Battle of Maige Tuired in my Scandinavian and Celtic Studies courses only added fuel to the fire.”

Having a degree in art has also aided Miss Johnson in creating the world of Ethöes. All of the artwork found on this website was done by the author. “Having a picture, especially a map, helps me visualize the story more completely. I hope that the images I have placed on my webpage will help my readers get a better idea of what my world looks like. Of course, you are always welcome to disregard them if the image you have in your head is better than the one I offer.”

Besides writing and drawing, Miss Johnson enjoys reading, gardening, camping and hiking. She also loves animals and bird watching and has many bird feeders set up in her garden at home.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/authorjejohnson
Website: http://www.jennaelizabethjohnson.com/
Facebook: http://www.jennaelizabethjohnson.com/
Twitter: @AuthorJEJohnson

Happy Reading,

Alison

Leave a Reply

