True Colors ~ Blog Tour, Guest Post & Giveaway

True Colors Blog Tour Banner2

(Tour schedule embedded)

True Colors

Cover Designer by Kate Strawbridge of Dwell Design & Press

Hosted by Mrs Potter’s Book Publicity Services

TRUE COLORS BLURB

Caitlyn Davis always cruised through life, not being the type to ruffle feathers or involve herself in high school drama…until a chance encounter with a strange, homeless man changes everything.

Suddenly, Caitlyn has the ability to see behind people’s masks. She discovers that her life isn’t as simple as she imagined and her high school is filled with secrets…some very sinister ones.

Unable to ignore her new gift, Caitlyn embarks on a mission to learn why one of her friends now appears terrified, but masks her fear behind a bright, smiling veneer. Will Caitlyn’s new ability lead her into hot water? Or is her new found vision a blessing that will expose her friends’ true colors?

Her quest will lead Caitlyn to lose friends, stand up for those in need, and even find love.

At Palisades High School every face tells a story…

5ebec-addtogoodreads
smashwords button

 

Guest Post by Melissa Pearl

Linking Worlds

In 2012 I wrote what I thought would be a stand alone novel – Betwixt. I never planned to incorporate any more than that, but readers seemed to adore Dale and wanted more. A year after it came out, I decided to publish two novellas to sandwich Betwixt and so The Betwixt Series was born. As I was nutting out these two short stories an idea sparked to life and I thought, “Wouldn’t it be fun to create a second world that Nicole and Dale could fit into.”

As I was writing Dale’s story – Before – this world grew and expanded and before I knew it, I was interacting with characters that play key roles in True Colors. This then led me to Dale and Nicole’s continuing story – Beyond. As I mapped that out, I thought, “Why don’t I set this up so that they could realistically appear in Caitlyn’s (MC from True Colors) world.”

I love the fact I don’t have to say goodbye to two of my favorite characters. They only have a cameo apperance in True Colors, but as I’ve mapped out the rest of the Masks Series, I can see them playing much bigger roles.

I’ve never thought to link story worlds before, but I’m so glad I did. All the interconnecting lines are so fantastic and it builds an even greater story for readers to enjoy. So, if you have read The Betwixt Series, be prepared – Nicole and Dale will be featuring in all four of the Masks books. I’m so glad you will get to see their continued journey through the eyes of Caitlyn and Eric.

 
True Colors back

Excerpt

“So.” Dale leaned his elbows on the table. “Eric told me you got into some trouble last night over Liam Donovan?”
I nodded, still nervous that Eric had let some stranger know all about what I was doing.
“Look, I know it’s probably really uncomfortable for you talk to me about this.” His gentle eyes were filled with compassion. “But I asked to meet you because…well, I used to know Liam.”
Regret was evident. I tried to pull his mask away, to see more, but there wasn’t one. What I saw was exactly that.
I swallowed. “How’d you know him?”
Dale sighed and ran a hand over his scar. “I didn’t know him that well; I used to hang out with his brother.”
“Mason.”
“Yeah, he uh…” Dale glanced at Nicole. “He taught me how to drive.”
“He taught you more than that.” Nicole winked, making Dale blush. A sad smile washed over his face, his regret blatantly obvious.
He grimaced, his nose wrinkling, and eventually confessed, “I used to steal cars…with Mason. He taught me how.”
My lips parted and I sat forward. “When was this?”
“A few years back now.”
“Did you go to Burbank High?”
“No, I was at Glendale. But I did use to party a lot with Mason’s crowd.”
My eyebrows rose without meaning to. He definitely didn’t look like a hell raiser. This sweet guy in front of me? There was no way.
“I can see you’re skeptical, but…” He licked his bottom lip, struggling for words.
Nicole nudged his elbow with her own. “He’s learned his lesson the hard way.” There was some secret joke going between them. They obviously had nothing to hide from each other. He ran his hand up her back, squeezing the nape of her neck affectionately. She grinned at him.

 

Invitation Masquarade Ball Final1
Party Info:
https://www.facebook.com/events/468910383213992/

The True Colors Masquerade Ball is happening on February 16th to celebrate the release of True Colors. All party-goers will be entitled to purchase a copy of True Colors for only 99c. There will also be competitions, giveaways and guest appearances from other authors who will be unveiling their own secrets. So come and join in the fun and help us welcome True Colors into the world with style.

Giveaway Time!!!

Enter to win a paperback copy of True Colors!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Author Bio ~ Melissa Pearl

Melissa Pearl

Melissa Pearl was born in Auckland, New Zealand, but has spent much of her life abroad, living in countries such as Jordan, Cyprus and Pakistan… not to mention a nine month road trip around North America with her husband. “Best. Year. Ever!!” She now lives in China with her husband and two sons. She is a trained elementary teacher, but writing is her passion. Since becoming a full time mother she has had the opportunity to pursue this dream and her debut novel hit the internet in November 2011. Since then she has continued to produce a steady stream of books. Recently she signed with Evatopia Press and her first Evatopia book is coming out in February 2014 – True Colors, The Masks Series #1. She is very excited to be trying out new things this year while continuing to publish under her own name as well. She has six books planned for 2014 and is excited about writing each and every one of them.
“I am passionate about writing. It stirs a fire in my soul that I never knew I had. I want to be the best writer I can possibly be and transport my readers into another world where they can laugh, cry and fall in love.”

Social Links

Facebook Author Page: http://www.facebook.com/melissapearlauthor
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MelissaPearlG
Blogs: http://melissapearl.blogspot.com/ and http://yalicious.blogspot.com/
Amazon Author Page: amazon.com/author/melissapearl
Goodreads Author Page: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5314516.Melissa_Pearl
Smashwords Author Page: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/melissapearl
Newsletter subscription: http://eepurl.com/p3g8v
Website: http://www.melissapearlauthor.com
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/melissapearlg/

Melissa Pearl sign

Other Titles by Melissa Pearl

The Time Spirit Trilogy
Golden Blood – Black Blood – Pure Blood

The Betwixt Series
Betwixt – Before – Beyond

The Mica & Lexy Series
Forbidden Territory
Forbidden Waters (due for release: 2014)

The Masks Series
Book 2 (due for release: 2014)
Book 3 (due for release: 2014)
Book 4 (due for release: 2015)

I Know Lucy Series
I Know Lucy (due for release: 2014)
Set Me Free (due for release: 2014)

The Song Bird Series
Fever (due for release: June 2014)

Mrs Potter

Happy Reading,

Alison

2 thoughts on “True Colors ~ Blog Tour, Guest Post & Giveaway

Leave a Reply

