Review ~ Breathe into Me by Sara Fawkes

Breathe into Me

New Adult / Romance


Published: April 8, 2014

Blurb

How did my life get so broken? It’s a question Lacey St. James asks herself every day. Stuck raising her little brother in a trailer park while she works a dead end job at a grocery store, she has a stalker exboyfriend, a bad reputation, and no way out.

And then, she meets Everett, who changes her entire existence.

Everett is an outsider who’s housesitting his family’s mansion off the coast, and for reasons Lacey can’t understand, he’s completely transfixed by her. He seems determined to show her that life can offer more than she’d ever hoped for, if only she believes in herself. She desperately yearns to trust him, but what happens when she finds out that everything he’s told her is a lie?

goodreads_icon

amazon

My ****3.5 Star**** Review

While I wasn’t exactly thrilled about the beginning or ending of this one, there was still so much that was redeemable in the middle. The story was okay at the start, but there just wasn’t anything that grabbed me. There wasn’t anything that had me wanting to flip the pages dying to know what happens.

But, about 50% through, I found myself making a connection to Lacey. I began to feel the pain of what she was having to endure and what she had previously survived. My interest gradually grew until I was absolutely hooked by about 75% of the way through. It just didn’t finish with a big punch for me, though.

While I did ultimately find myself connecting with Lacey, there were times that I was COMPLETELY annoyed with her! Personally I’d rather rough it on my own than run to someone that was abusive. I tend to like a tougher heroine.

The story starts out from Lacey’s perspective and changes to Everett’s about half way through. This caught me a little off-guard. What really struck me was that his character seemed to change a little. Her perspective of him was a bit different from well, him. I have to admit that I liked him from her point of view best. Either way, I could feel the connection between them and that was a plus.

Who would I recommend this to? If you’re into contemporary romances with heroines that have really had mountains to overcome and are still struggling with self-esteem, then this would be for you.

Would I read more from this author? Yes. While it had a shaky start and aspects I didn’t care for. I was so taken in at one point that I couldn’t stop reading. That tells me there’s definite potential there.

Warnings: language, violence, abuse, sexual content, threat of rape
*I received a copy via NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press in exchange for an honest review.*

About the Author ~ Sara Fawkes

Sara Fawkes has always loved spinning tales, but her romantic roots come from sneaking her mother’s old Johanna Lindsay books from the dresser drawer. She’s been writing stories since she was a little girl (and has the home made books from preschool to prove it), and loves creating stories and characters and interesting messes for them to get into. An avid traveler and adventure motorcyclist, her dream job includes selling everything off and leaving civilization to see the world on two wheels, writing in cafes in each country she visits, and living off her writing. In the meantime however, she lives in California with her menagerie of pets and, when not writing, loves to rebuild old motorcycles/cars with her Dude and plays with the characters in her head. You can find her online talking about whatever strikes her fancy at:

http://www.sara-fawkes.com
Twitter @SaraFawkes
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/SaraFawkesAuthor

Happy Reading,

Alison

2 thoughts on “Review ~ Breathe into Me by Sara Fawkes

  1. Pingback: Week in Review ~ New Releases 4/6-4/12 & 4/13-4/19 & Giveaway | Ali's Books

  2. Pingback: My April 2014 Reviews ~ Look into May & Giveaway | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

