Review / Release Day ~ The Pleasures of Spring (Pleasures #4)

The Pleasures of Spring

Publisher: Penguin Ireland


Date Published: April 24, 2014


Genre: Romance/Erotica/BDSM


Print Length: 466 pages

Book Description

An invitation to the hot and steamy world of bestselling Irish erotica author Evie Hunter…

‘More colour and better written than EL James and a more exciting read than any of Sylvia Day’s books’ Irish Independent

‘A BDSM masterpiece’ Sunday World

‘A must-read if you enjoyed Fifty Shades of Grey’ Irish Daily Star

He picked up her hand where it grasped the water glass, felt her pulse and looked into her eyes. ‘You don’t want a man with manners. You want someone who will let you walk on the wild side, who knows what you’re really like …

Roz Spring is an actress and a chameleon, the kind of woman who always lands on her feet. But even Roz can’t talk her way out of witnessing a murder, and she must go into hiding before the murderer comes for her.

Andy McTavish has turned his back on a life of privilege to prove himself in the world of international security. Tall, dark and dangerous, Andy is the ultimate seducer who has never met a woman who can tame him.

Roz needs his protection and, to get his family off his back, Andy needs a fake fiancée. The solution is obvious: pretend to be a couple. Getting up close and personal won’t be hard, as the chemistry between them is electrifying.

As two practiced charmers drive each other beyond the limits of sensual endurance, they find their usual defences are no good. When the barriers come crashing down, a raw passion emerges that neither wants to admit.They know that when the murderer shows his hand, they will face a fight for life and freedom. And if they survive, what will happen when the need to pretend is over?

The Pleasures of Spring is the latest sizzling standalone novel from Evie Hunter whose trademark combination is an addictive erotic story and a page-turning plot. If you’re an Evie fan, you won’t be disappointed. And if you’re new to Evie, well, you’re in for quite the delicious treat…

PRAISE FOR EVIE HUNTER

‘As near perfection as a Suspense/Romance/Erotic/BDSM novel could EVER get!’ Ripe for Reader

‘Every delicious moment comes with amazing tension and believability … masterfully written, artfully told, and yummy to read.’ My Book Boyfriend

‘All I can say is, holy yowza, Batman! Yes, this book falls firmly into the ‘What to read after Fifty Shades of Grey’ category, but in my opinion … this book blows Fifty Shades out of the water. I unabashedly adored this book.’ This Bookish Endeavor

‘Danger, heat, obsession and unexplored desires come together to form a combustive and sizzling tale, not soon forgotten.’ Romancing The Book

‘One of those rare books that has stolen my heart, my mind and my soul … a flawless, exciting and down-right steamy read that will stay with you long after your finish.’ Totally Bookalicious

My ****4 Star**** Review

The book had an exciting start, but I didn’t feel a connecting with Roz right away. I gradually warmed to her, though. I quite honestly felt like I was on pins and needles the whole way through with her. I kept wondering if she was going to do the right thing, or if I was going to have to jump in and strangle her. Andy, on the other hand, I enjoyed from the start.There was a lot of funny banter between the two of them that I enjoyed, too. The characters were all well-developed, and I even developed a soft spot for Andy’s mother although her role in the story wasn’t too big.

The plot itself kept me on my toes and guessing, which I enjoyed. You get the story through both Roz and Andy’s point of view. I personally preferred Andy’s, but that’s probably because I liked him better. I do have to admit, though, that while the plot was intriguing, I never felt like I was just going to die if I didn’t find out what happened next. There were a lot of surprises along the way, however, and I liked that it was unpredictable.

There were a couple negatives for me. First, some of the fetish stuff mentioned and/or done came off as weird to me – personal preference. Second, I thought some of the actions didn’t make any sense. For example, Roz goes horse back riding right after she’s severely beaten. And, they share with Andy’s parents friends that they are engaged and staying at his parents, knowing it would be gossiped about. Why do that when you’re in hiding?

Overall, I say it just reached 4 stars for me. I definitely enjoyed it enough to want to read more from Evie. However, I’d still have to say that I prefer 50 Shades. I recommend this to erotica/BDSM fans if you like a good plot mixed in. This is part of a series, but can be read as a stand-alone.

Warnings:strong language, strong sexual content (definitely not for minors), violence, and sexual assault
*I received a copy via NetGalley and Penguin Books (UK) in exchange for an honest review.*

About the Author ~ Evie Hunter

Evie Hunter is actually two authors Caroline McCall and Eileen Gormley who met at a creative writing workshop in Dublin in 2010. On discovering that they shared a passion for erotic fiction, they became the best of friends. In early 2012 they got a chance to co-write a series of erotic novellas for an American publisher. When they completed the second one without killing each other, they decided to take on something bigger. Eventually, they emerged into daylight, clutching THE PLEASURES OF WINTER, saying ‘Never again’ … until the next time.
Website: http://www.eviehunter.com
Twitter: pleasureswinter

Happy Reading,

Alison

2 thoughts on “Review / Release Day ~ The Pleasures of Spring (Pleasures #4)

  1. Pingback: Week in Review ~ New Releases 4/20-26 & Giveaway | Ali's Books

  2. Pingback: My April 2014 Reviews ~ Look into May & Giveaway | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

