Review ~ The Kraken King (Part 1)

Kraken King Part 1

Title: The Kraken King Part I: The Kraken King and the Scribbling Spinster (Iron Seas #4.1)


Author: Meljean Brook


Date Published: April 15, 2014


Publisher: PENGUIN GROUP Berkley, NAL / Signet Romance, DAW: InterMix


Genre: Sci-Fi/Steampunk, Romance, Fantasy, Adventure

Blurb

A former smuggler and thief, Ariq—better known as the Kraken King—doesn’t know what to make of the clever, mysterious woman he rescues from an airship besieged by marauders. Unsure if she’s a spy or a pawn in someone else’s game, Ariq isn’t about to let her out of his sight until he finds out…After escaping her fourth kidnapping attempt in a year, Zenobia Fox has learned to vigilantly guard her identity. While her brother Archimedes is notorious for his exploits, Zenobia has had no adventures to call her own—besides the stories she writes.But when she jumps at the chance to escape to the wilds of Australia and acquire research for her next story, Zenobia quickly discovers that the voyage will be far more adventurous than any fiction she could put to paper…

amazonbutton

My ****4 Star****Review

First let me describe how this book is laid out. This is actually just the first part of an 8 part novel, which will later be released as one complete novel if I’m understanding correctly. I didn’t realize when I first received the book for review that it would be so short and incomplete, so this threw me off at the end. I don’t want you to pick this up not realizing what you’re getting. To be more thorough in this explanation, The Kraken King in it’s entirety, is the 4th book in the Iron Seas series. I haven’t previously read the first 3 books in the series, so I can say it works as a stand alone. I couldn’t comment on how it relates to the previous 3 novels.

Okay, so first let me say that I really thought the steampunk fantasy world was quite intriguing. This was such a unique story. It blended aspects of our past with what could only be considered futuristic ideas. I thought the descriptions were wonderful, and I could easily picture the events in my head.

As far as the characters went, I would have to say that I didn’t agree with their judgment calls on a lot of things. There were times that some of the characters were rude, selfish and immature. However, I was still so greatly intrigued. Plus there were some very admirable qualities, such as the way the Kraken King took care of the people in his area and was self-sacrificing.

Unfortunately this was so short that I don’t have a whole lot to say on it. While I found it quite interesting and unique, I don’t think I would pay $1.99 for this little book – or more accurately what would amount to a few chapters. That would be $16 after spending that on all 8 parts. I’m curious to see what the price will be when the book is complete.

I’ll have to go with 4 low stars. I think if I had a complete story then I would probably rate it 4 strong stars, but that remains to be seen. Who would I recommend this to? Steampunk/Romance fans that don’t mind gritty, naughty characters!

Warnings: some strong language, sexual banter
*I received a copy via NetGalley and InterMix in exchange for an honest review.*

About the Author ~ Meljean Brook

meljean

Meljean was raised in the middle of the woods, and hid under her blankets at night with fairy tales, comic books, and romances. She left the forest and went on a misguided tour through the world of accounting before focusing on her first loves, reading and writing–and she realized that monsters, superheroes, and happily-ever-afters are easily found between the covers, as well as under them, so she set out to make her own.

Meljean lives in Portland, Oregon with her husband and daughter.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authormeljeanbrook
Twitter: https://twitter.com/meljean
Website: http://meljeanbrook.com/

Happy Reading,

Alison

3 thoughts on “Review ~ The Kraken King (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: My April 2014 Reviews ~ Look into May & Giveaway | Ali's Books

  2. I’ve been wanting to try The Kraken King (just because the title sounds cool), but I didn’t realize that it was part of her Iron series. I guess, I will need to start that one first sense I don’t like starting in the middle of series. Thanks for the heads up.

    • I didn’t realize it was part of the series until after I was reading it. It can be read as a stand-alone, but I would have started at the beginning if I had known beforehand! You’re so welcome!!

Leave a Reply

