Harte’s Peak ~ Promo Blitz, Review & Giveaway

Hartespeak

Title: Harte’s Peak

Author: Maria Michaels

Release Date: June 20, 2014

Genre: Inspirational romance

Hosted By: Book Promotions by Literary Nook

Synopsis

Vera Carrington loves her newly renovated home and her cafe, The Bean, but with a balloon mortgage looming over head and a man from her past ready to bounce on her misfortune, she may have to face the agonizing decision of keeping one and selling the other.
Deputy Sheriff, Ryan Colton, is a new man in Christ. His days as a flamboyant pro-circuit skier are behind him, but to help Vera keep her home and her business, he agrees to coach her for an upcoming open ski tournament. He even agrees to hand over the purse if he should win.
Can Vera beat the odds and win the tournament? Will Ryan save the day, or will they both learn to trust God, no matter the outcome?

Excerpt

Vera served dinner at the counter, and they ate on the kitchen stools. No need to get fancy with Ryan. This wasn’t a date, and she wanted to make that clear.

Men like Ryan, church-going men, were to be her friends and nothing more. Even if those brown eyes, that devastating smile, and his athletic form reminded her that once she’d thought him a very attractive man.

A little too handsome maybe. She’d quickly placed him in the compete-with mirror-time category, but tonight it seemed she might have been wrong all along.

“This is delicious,” Ryan said.

He must have meant it because he cleaned his plate. She’d forgotten how satisfying it was to cook a meal for someone who appreciated it. “Thanks.”

“Maybe you should open that restaurant.” Ryan rose and took his plate to the sink.

In the sudden, gaping silence, Ryan seemed to regret his words. “I’m sorry. I know times are hard for everyone. Every business owner in town is struggling.”

Vera winced. She could ski with the wind and cook like a chef. “I don’t need your pity. The café is doing great.”

“That’s kind of what I thought. So tell me, why this urgency to get your hands on the top prize of twenty-five thousand dollars?”

Purchase

HartesPeak_w11514_680

My ***3.5 Star*** Review

I finished reading this one about a month prior to writing this review. I can be the worst kind of procrastinator sometimes. I’m only commenting on this because it had an effect on my rating here. I’ll explain, but first I want to get into what I loved about the book.

First and foremost, Ryan. What good Christian girl wouldn’t love a hero like Ryan?? He’s so full of selfless love that it flows like a river out of him. He’s all about provide and protect, and what girl doesn’t want that out of her man? Then there’s Vera. She stubborn and pig-headed, and I know I could certainly relate! She comes with a past, though, in the form of one scary, powerful guy.

The plot is full of tension and love all in one bundle. Plus, the conflict is more than just one-dimensional, which adds to the intrigue. I found myself whole-heartedly rooting Vera and Ryan on!

Okay. Back to the downside. When I started to write the review. I couldn’t find my notes at first, and I couldn’t immediately remember which story went with this title. This happens to me often, though, as I read sooo many books. I had to skim more than a few pages of the book to bring the story back to mind. This happens from time to time. After the story clicked back to mind, I could quickly remember a lot of the details, but it just took some digging at first.

Overall, I highly recommend this to all you Christian romance fans!!! While this may not be the book that you remember reading a year down the road without some prodding, it’ll definitely be an enjoyable read for a nice afternoon by the pool!! I certainly don’t regret the time I spent with the story! I’d happily pick up another of Maria’s books!!
*I received a copy via the author in exchange for an honest review.*

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Pelican Book Group

Author Bio

MB_035 (1)

When her dreams of achieving Rock and Roll Hall of Fame status were dashed, Maria Michaels tackled her first book in 2010, and now the people and voices that occupy her head refuse to leave.She no longer sings unless you count randomly bursting into song to annoy her children (and the dogs).Maria lives in northern California with her family, including two beagles, one who can say ‘hello’ and the other who can feel a pea through several pillows. Facebook | Twitter | Website

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

bpbuttonfortours

Happy Reading

Alison

4 thoughts on “Harte’s Peak ~ Promo Blitz, Review & Giveaway

  1. The cover art is so sweet and this would be a wonderful summer read. I’ll be adding it to my list. Thanks so much for sharing and for the giveaway too.

Leave a Reply

