Getting By by Claudia Y. Burgoa ~ Review & Giveaway

Getting By

Title: Getting By


Series: A Knight’s Tale I


Author: Claudia Y. Burgoa


Genre: Contemporary New Adult Romance

Synopsis

When Emma Anderson arrived at San Francisco International Airport, she regretted accepting the distinction of being the maid of honor to Gaby’s—her childhood friend—wedding. It had been years since the last time she set foot in Menlo Park, where her parents had been killed. The rug where she had been shoving her feelings since that day looked bumpier than a camel’s hump. Who could blame her; if she hadn’t been selfish they’d still be around. Ever since that fateful day, Emma has been perfecting the knack of Getting By.

Cade’s wedding in Menlo Park—a city close to San Francisco—might be the perfect place for Jake Knight to shake the memories of his ex, Emma Anderson for good. Single, available women galore for an entire week was the perfect medication, one he intended to take three times a day for an entire week to return to his player days. It was a plan the former spy thought flawless until he came face to face with the maid of honor. Jake’s perfect retreat turns into a flight, fight or hide week of celebrations.

amazonbutton goodreads_icon bnbutton

My ****4 Star**** Review

I’m going to start here with my overall opinion. The story itself I would give 4.5 stars, the writing 4 stars. Had it not been for some writing issues (I’ll address these shortly), I would have said 4.5 stars. This was a story that I zoomed through. It’s a good thing that the story wasn’t too long, or I definitely would have shirked on some of my responsibilities.

The story starts with a prologue. I have to say here that it didn’t leave me wanting to read further. It was frankly sad, and it lacked anything that would leave me rooting for the characters involved. However, after reading the first chapter, I had to see where the story was going! This says a lot, too, because from the start, Jake was a one-night stand sort of guy; not one that I’d be into. But, Jake and Emma’s first meetings were so exciting that I had to start rooting for them. Getting both of their perspectives in the story really helped me connect to both of them.

Jake and Emma both have some serious issues, though. Both of them have some very ugly baggage. You don’t get many details, but I have to warn those of you that are sensitive to the issue, that rape is involved. This story is much more than just a romance. It’s full of drama and mystery, too. Plus, there’s a major theme of family that comes into play. The romance itself is what sucked me in. I loved that their relationship wasn’t all about sex. The bulk of the story takes place two years after they first got together. You’ll read that the start of their relationship was definitely based on sex, but that’s not the part of their relationship that you see first hand. As a matter of fact, there’s just a couple steamy scenes, but there’s no descriptions of actual sex taking place. While I’m on the topic of warnings, let me also say that there’s strong language used throughout, but it’s used sparingly and not in every other sentence.

The plot itself had a nice smooth pace throughout and never dragged. However, there was some confusion when it came to the writing a few times. A couple scenes I had to reread to understand, and then there was once or twice that I just gave up trying to figure out what was being said. It was distracting, but the story was definitely good enough for me to keep going. Then there were also a couple times where the characters actions didn’t fit their personalities, but again, not enough to keep me from pressing on. On a positive note, the story kept me on my toes. There were some twists that I never saw coming that really helped keep things interesting and kept the story from being predictable. Plus, the story really drew some emotions from me. I laughed and laughed for a good while, and then when things were at their worst, I was actually tearing up.

The only other thing I wasn’t crazy about was the ending. It was just too quick for me. I was just really left wanting more. So, I’m hopeful, because there’s more to come in the series. I fell in love with Jake and the other two Knight brothers, so I can’t wait for their stories!!

*I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.*

About the Author ~ Claudia Y. Burgoa

Claudia Burgoa

Born on the mystical day of October 30th in the not so mystical lands of Mexico City, Claudia grew up with a childhood that resembled a caffeine-injected soap opera. Seventeen years ago she ventured to the lands of her techie husband—a.k.a. the U.S.—with their offspring to start a new adventure.

She now lives in Colorado working as a CFO for a small IT company, managing her household filled with three confused dogs, said nerd husband, two daughters wrought with fandoms and a son who thinks he’s the boss of the house. To survive she works continually to find purpose for the voices flitting through her head, plus she consumes high quantities of chocolate to keep the last threads of sanity intact.
Website: http://www.claudiayburgoa.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7202946.Claudia_Y_Burgoa

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClaudiaYBurgoa

Twitter: https://twitter.com/yuribeans

Giveaway!!!!

If you haven’t already, check out my earlier post on Getting By, and enter to win a kindle version of the book. The giveaway will be open for the remainder of the month. Good luck!!

Happy Reading,

Alison

One thought on “Getting By by Claudia Y. Burgoa ~ Review & Giveaway

  1. Pingback: Standing By ~ Review, Giveaway – 4 winners & Interview w/ Claudia | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

