Review ~ Only With You by Lauren Layne

only with you

Title: Only With You


Series: The Best Mistake Series


Author: Lauren Layne


Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romantic Comedy


Release Date: July 29, 2014

Book Description

Love is the Biggest Gamble of All . . .

Cocktail waitress Sophie Dalton doesn’t exactly have a life plan. She’s perfectly happy being everyone’s favorite party girl. But when a Las Vegas bachelorette party goes awry and an uptight businessman mistakes Sophie for a prostitute . . . well, Sophie wonders if it’s time to reevaluate her priorities. Swearing off her thigh-high boots for good, Sophie slinks back home with damaged pride-and a jackpot of a hangover.

Yet what happens in Vegas doesn’t always stay there. On a trip to Seattle to open a new office, Grayson Wyatt meets his latest employee-who turns out to be the same woman he recently called a hooker. Wealthy and gorgeous, Gray is a man used to getting what he wants. And it doesn’t take long to figure out that smart, sassy, sexy Sophie is everything he’s been looking for. As their late nights at the office turn into hot morning-afters, they realize their Vegas misunderstanding may lead to the real thing . . .

goodreads_icon amazonbutton bnbutton

My ****4.5 STRONG STARS**** Review

This was my first Lauren Layne novel, but it definitely won’t be my last! After my initial introduction to Sophie, I never would have guessed that I would have fallen in love with the book, but it was no time before I was laughing. Then laughing, laughing some more, oh yeah…and laughing some more. I’ve always enjoyed a good romantic comedy when it comes to movies, but I think there are slim pickings in the book world when it comes to combining comedy with a great romance. This book covered both well!

I really can’t even describe how I fell in love with the characters the way I did. Gray isn’t your typical hero when it comes to romance. As a matter of fact, I don’t think I’ve ever read about a character like him. He’s your uptight professional that lacks in the communication skills department. He’s just not sociable – at all. Don’t mistake him for being a shy wimp, though. He’s all man!

Besides their contrasting personalities, Sophie and Gray have other obstacles in their way. Plus Sophie doesn’t know whether she should love him or hate him. Because of this, you get a nice slow build up to their relationship. It’s the second half of the book before you see the steamy action start to come in. I can’t deny that there are some intense and upsetting scenes added in the mix. At one point I was tearing up.

Most of the book is from Sophie’s perspective, but you do get a little glimpse at Brynn. Brynn is Sophie’s uptight sister who’s fighting her feelings for Sophie’s bff Will. There are plenty of tempting teasers thrown in to keep your tongue wagging for book 2 in the series! I personally can’t wait! Don’t fret if you’re not into cliffhangers. This is a complete stand-alone.

Negatives?? I don’t have many. I’m not crazy about the cover. This is just personal preference. I tend to prefer my romance covers to lack models. I like to let the words put the images of the people in my mind. No biggie here. Other than that, it just lacked that certain something that would make it unforgettable.

Overall, I highly recommend it to all romance lovers out there, especially if you want a good laugh and maybe a cry, too! As I mentioned at the start, this won’t be my last Lauren Layne book. I can’t wait for Made For You, book 2 in the series, set to release Oct. 28th!!

Warnings: strong language, sex scenes

*I received a copy via NetGalley and Forever (Grand Central Publishing) in exchange for an honest review.*

About the Author ~ Lauren Layne

Lauren Layne

Lauren Layne is a snarky smartass with a serious weakness for happily ever afters.

Marrying her high school sweetheart was a good start. *cue Disney soundtrack.*

But Lauren wanted all romance, all the time.

Now she writes fictional happy endings, and considers her job done well if you swoon while reading her books.

Don’t worry. You will.

Once upon a time she lived in a Manhattan high-rise, but now she’s on the laid-back train in the Seattle area. If you ever find yourself in Issaquah, she’ll probably buy you a drink. Maybe.

Website: http://www.laurenlayne.com
Twitter: @_laurenlayne
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6969772.Lauren_Layne

Happy Reading,

Alison

Leave a Reply

