Review ~ Veiled Innocence by Ella Frank

Veiled Innocence

Synopsis

Tick, tick, tock.

Time.

That’s all I have now.

A small room, a photograph, and time.

They want me to trust them and confess my sins.

They told me they wouldn’t judge me—they lied.

I thought we could convince the world that this wasn’t a crime.

We were wrong.

Time doesn’t stand still.

The clock keeps ticking, the world is unconvinced, and now…

Now he is gone.

amazonbutton goodreads_icon bnbutton

My ****4.5 Star**** Review

This was a powerful read! I won this book in a contest and picked it up to read without even reading a blurb. So, I had no clue that I was about to enter into the land of the taboo. This book will really leave you wrestling with right and wrong, and it doesn’t matter which side you fall on. Ella Frank did such an amazing job writing it that there’s no way she didn’t change some minds.

So, what is the taboo subject?? – an inappropriate teacher/student relationship. The characters?? The book starts with Addison. Addison is one cocky, confident, sexy seductress for an 18yr old, or maybe she isn’t. Then there’s Mr. McKendrick, the history teacher. He’s just in town for a year to spend time with his dying father. He’s not looking for any sort of relationship, especially not one with a student.

A forbidden relationship isn’t the only thing enclosed within the spine of this book, either. Death, physical abuse, attempted suicide, and mental breakdowns are aplenty.

You get the point of views of both Addy and Mr. McKendrick giving you a good taste of the struggles they’re both facing. This is one heck of a roller coaster ride! You can expect strong language and graphic sex scenes not appropriate for minors. Don’t confuse this book as pure erotic, though. This is one of those books where the sex scenes are important to the overall story.

So why not the extra half star? This book isn’t missing much. I’m just not sure that it’s one that I’d want to pick up and read over and over again. I reserve my rare 5 stars for those. Does that mean I won’t ever read this again? Absolutely not!

Who do I recommend this to? Romance readers that aren’t afraid of taboo subjects. However, I normally shy away from those taboo subjects and I love this book, so I would recommend it to any romance lover willing to take a risk.

This was my first Ella Frank novel, but it definitely won’t be my last!

Where to find the Author ~ Ella Frank

Website: http://www.ellafrank.com
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6451816.Ella_Frank
Twitter: @EllaFrank2012

Happy Reading,

Alison

Leave a Reply

