Review ~ Love Notes

love notes

Synopsis

How do you cope when the people you care for hurt you the most? When the way you feel on the outside, smothers you on the inside. And when you are left to face your demons alone, will you learn that only you have the power to overcome them?

Charlie has never had it easy. Between the constant moving and the incessant fat comments and jokes from her father, her self-worth is nonexistent. Her reflection in the mirror shows her nothing but a plain Jane. Music is the only thing that keeps her sanity in check.

Charlie catches the eye of the town star quarterback, Maverick. With her curves, her brunette hair, and the voice of an angel, Maverick has never met anyone like her. Everything that is different about Charlie just makes Maverick like her more. Unfortunately, Charlie doesn’t see it herself.

Proving it to her may deem harder than he thinks, especially when tragedy strikes and tears them apart.

Now standing on her own two feet she may finally learn exactly who she is, what’s she’s capable of and how very un plain Jane she really is.

goodreads_icon amazonbutton bnbutton

smashwords button

My ****4 Star**** Review

I was sucked in with the first sentence on this one, and it never let go.

You start out inside Charlie’s head. Charlie’s a senior and has just moved to a new school – AGAIN. She has little to no self-confidence and this stems from the atrocious parents she has. They aren’t physically abusive, but they have mental abuse down to an art. I normally hate a heroine with zero self worth, but in this case it is completely understandable and you feel for her immediately.

So, you follow Charlie to her first day of school where she bumps into Maverick, the school football star, quite literally. She’s mortified, but he’s feeling something all together different. You start getting rotating point of views from Charlie and Maverick. You get to see Charlie the way she sees herself, and Charlie the way Mav sees her – beautiful and amazing.

Charlie instantly falls for Mav but doesn’t see what he sees in her. She even tries to rush to the physical, but that’s where I truly fell in love with Mav. He stresses that he really wants her, but that she doesn’t need to prove anything to him through sex.

I also love that Charlie finds Tori. Tori becomes Charlie’s other encouraging force. So, the building up of Charlie doesn’t just come from a relationship with a guy. I also love that Charlie isn’t fixed overnight. It’s a gradual work taking place.

Then tragedy strikes and just when I think all is going to be okay…I was CRUSHED! I mean I was literally crying. But, it’s through all of this that Charlie truly learns to see herself clearly and that self worth isn’t measured by other people. If you want to know whether this has a happy or sad ending, read the next paragraph. I won’t give away the ending, but I know some of you just like to know if a book ends sad or happy. If you don’t want to know, just skip the next paragraph.

For those of you like me, that have to know, you get a happy ending. I really would have wished for even more of an ending, but you get more in book 2, which I can’t wait to read!

As for any negatives in the story ~ there were a couple times that their actions didn’t make sense, but it was always silly things like why did he go off his own way instead of walking her to class, which would have seemed the normal thing for high school guys. There’s also a bit of editing that needs to be done. Then there’s one other crazy thing that I really can’t even answer to why it is. I read this book a month ago. I usually don’t get to write my reviews as I finish my books due to my crazy schedule. I always keep all my notes, though, so I remember all I wanted to say. At the end of the book in my notes I wrote, “5 STARS!!!” So, why did I give it 4 stars then? Well, I had a hard time remembering the book. I mean a really hard time. After reading all my notes, I went and read other reviews trying to get a firm grasp on what happened in the story. It wasn’t until I slept on it that the whole story came back to me. It’s really crazy! I can’t believe that this book had me crying and then I struggled to remember it. I really don’t have a clue as to what was missing to make it memorable for me.

Back to the positives. Who would I recommend this, too? Well, anyone looking for a YA/NA encouraging story. Just keep in mind that this is only for mature YA. There’s strong language and there is that one time Charlie tries to push Mav to sex, but there is no sex and that scene doesn’t go very far. She puts his hand on her breast, and he stops it there although it’s apparent he has been affected – evidence in the crotch area. This is also for all you YA/NA romance lovers. I truly love that this is a romance, but soooo much more!! I can’t wait to read the next book, Heartstrings, which is already out and about Tori and Will, Mav’s best friend. You get glimpses at their relationship or lack of one throughout Love Notes, and it definitely leaves you wanting the whole story!

I purchased this book myself on Amazon. It was free at the time of purchase, and is still free as I currently write this.

About the Author ~ Heather Gunter

Heather Gunter

Heather is a devoted mother of three gorgeous boys. She balances spending as much time with them as possible with writing, updating her Into the Night Reviews book blog and her day job. Her love of animals sees her home in Canton, GA bursting with numerous dogs and ferrets.

Heather campaigns passionately for anti-bullying initiatives and has a strong conviction to reduce peoples suffering at the hands of bullies.

A talented singer, who once dreamed of pursuing a career in that field, she has put that goal aside in exchange for her writing. A self proclaimed geek, whatever spare time she has is spent curled on the couch reading and listening to music.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6923563.Heather_Gunter
Twitter: @HeatherGunter5
Website: http://intothenightbookreviews.blogspot.com/p/heathers-author.html

Happy Reading,

Alison

Leave a Reply

