Review ~ Right-Hearted: Finding What’s Right With a Wrong-Sided Heart

right-hearted

Synopsis

Right-Hearted: Finding What’s Right With A Wrong Sided Heart, is a short memoir about my life-threatening heart conditions and an unforgettable girl. I was born with a broken heart. Literally. My heart is on the right side instead of the left. I was also born with 6 other random congenital heart defects, which have demanded that I undergo dangerous open-heart surgeries since my birth 16 years ago. After my last operation 3 years ago, at barely 14, I was sent away to live so that I would not kill myself. I spent 2 years learning to accept my heart conditions and learning to appreciate my beating heart. The blurry ambulance rides, countless surgeries, metal machines and two years in a Montana therapy school have all contributed to the unique teenager I am today.

I never knew anybody who completely understood my unique struggles until that night under the full moon.

Standing before the sky I had little idea my next two weeks would be overwhelmed with wild love, lust, confusion, tears and a beautiful girl. She and I would share the stories of our hearts…our right-sided hearts. Right-Hearted: Finding What’s Right With A Wrong Sided Heart is the story of two lustful teenagers who together confront their life-threatening conditions and learn to embrace their broken hearts.

goodreads_icon amazonbutton bnbutton

smashwords button

My ***3 Star*** Review

*This review may seem to be spoilerish to some.*
Not having read the synopsis or anything else prior to reading this very short novella, I had no clue that this was a work of nonfiction. Had I known beforehand, I might have had different expectations, but I wouldn’t say vastly different.

This is a glimpse into sixteen year old Daniel and his life at one short point in time. Daniel has a condition called dextracardia. His heart is on the right side of his body rather than the left. He’s at boarding school and meets Chloe, a girl with the same condition. There seems to be an instant connection with her, but one that ultimately doesn’t go very far.

I think there’s a great foundation here. However, I would have enjoyed this a lot more if he would have slowed the story way down and given more intimate details that would have connected me to him and Chloe. He tells you what he’s feeling throughout, but I would have preferred him to show me, to make me feel what he was feeling. I even would have liked to know more about his boarding school situation as it related to better understand the circumstances in which he met with Chloe.

I’d be interested in reading more from Daniel and seeing how he progresses with his writing in the future. I purchased this novella on Amazon when it was being offered for free.
Warnings: strong language

About the Author ~ Daniel Wallock

Daniel Wallock

Daniel has published one book and his writing has appeared in Burningword, Wild Quarterly, Paragraph Planet, ExFic, The Vending Machine Press, and The Bolt Magazine. He’s received four writing awards including first place in San Jose State University’s Nonfiction Short Story Contest. He also received a Gold Key for nonfiction, the highest regional honor, from Scholastic’s Art and Writing Awards. Daniel worked as manager of marketing at Ginosko Literary Journal and he’s founder of This Very Breath Journal.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8203841.Daniel_Wallock
Website: http://www.danielwallock.com/
Twitter: @dwallock
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/danielwallockwrites

Happy Reading,

Alison

Leave a Reply

