Review ~ Sometimes You Know @melharrisauthor

Sometimes You Know

Sometimes You Know (The Fangirl Series #2)

by Melinda Harris

Blurb

Boats…

Sydney Campbell hates boats, almost as much as she hates unsweetened iced tea, mornings and people that insist on wearing pantyhose with open-toed shoes. But when it comes to sexy London Boys singer, Simon Young, there aren’t many things Sydney wouldn’t do. And that’s how she finds herself aboard a cruise ship to the Bahamas trying to not only win his business, but maybe even his heart.

Simon Young has spent the past four years drowning in a sea of booze and women, trying to dull the memory of a night he knows he’ll never forget. The only thing keeping him from calling it quits on life is a beloved silver locket that has somehow kept his sanity in check for nearly a decade. But it’s not until he meets his new confident and incredibly beautiful public relations manager that he feels like he can finally breathe again.

Simon and Sydney are both shocked by their instant connection, but even more surprising is how right it all seems. And now given the chance, Sydney hopes to repay a favor that changed her forever, but she may be too late. Simon may be too far gone to be brought back to life.

Only time – and a silver locket – will tell.

Note: The Fangirl Series is a stand-alone series. You do not have to read “You Never Know” prior to reading the other books in the series, but there is character crossover.

SYK_Teaser2

My ****4.5 Star**** Review

First I want to give some cover love. Mel, I absolutely LOVE your covers! I have never been a fan of having models on the cover of a book. I think it tends to detract from the imagination. It’s just a personal preference of mine. However, I love all three of Mel’s covers. They give you a piece of an image, but still plenty to keep your imagination flowing. Plus, if I must be honest, I love that all the models are fully clothed so I can share them on my blog, since I try to keep my images kid friendly for all those moms out there with little ones running around while they’re sitting in front of their computers. LOL!

Okay. So, the basics. The story runs smoothly at a nice pace, and not once did I find it dragging. There were a few times that I thought the story was taking a predictable turn, but I was always wrong. I love that! I also really enjoyed the rotating point of view. It really helped give the “whole” story. Emotionally, this book will take you through a whole host of feelings. You can expect to find yourself laughing out loud, angry, all gushy feeling, and just seriously upset. The character development was great. I really connected to both Simon and Sydney. Content warnings: strong language and steamy sex scenes.

Simon. Mmm, Simon. He’s been on a path leading right to death’s door. He has some serious baggage he hasn’t been able to let go of. He’s just ready to give up, but has been fighting that urge. Sydney brings him hope. However, Simon finds it practically impossible to place his trust in her. Sydney has some issues of her own, too. They aren’t as glaringly obvious as Simon’s, but they’re there and holding her back.

For a while I started to wonder if the story was going to put out the wrong message. It didn’t. I really love the way it was all wrapped up. So, if you’re reading along and start to get concerned, just finish! It just says that much more about the author. She can take you to the edge and bring you right back!

Negatives? There were times that I really wanted to knock some sense into Simon. I really wanted him to think differently. But, then he wouldn’t have been Simon. Truly, I wouldn’t change him. I just wanted to while I was reading. LOL! Seriously, I don’t think I’d change anything about the story. Why not 5 stars? There are some stories (rare) that just speak volumes to me, and I know they’ll live with me forever. I’m not sure why some stories have that and most don’t. That’s just the way it is. I save my 5 stars for those rare books. Speaking of the rating…I was very surprised after reading the book to find my name in the acknowledgments section. Ecstatic is more like it. So, naturally I sent Melinda a little note to let her know how grateful I am. She was pleased, but so very adamant about not wanting it to affect my review. She’s just that awesome! Seriously! If you’re a book reviewer then you know what I’m talking about. There are so many authors out there that don’t want anything less than a five star review. Melinda just wants respectful honesty. I can’t say I’m not tempted to give her 5 stars because she’s just that sweet, though.

*I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.*

Check out my review for book 1 in the Fangirl Series ~ You Never Know, HERE!

SYK_Teaser6

Melinda’s Playlist for “Sometimes You Know”

This is a small sampling of my favorites, including any that inspired specific scenes in the book.

“Here’s Where We Begin” – Joshua Radin

“Raging Fire” – Phillip Phillips

“Echo” – Jason Walker

“Bleeding Out” – Imagine Dragons

“The Way I Am” – Ingrid Michaelson

“Fall Away” – The Fray

“The World Spins Madly On” – The Weepies

“Still On My Brain” – Justin Timberlake

“In Her Eyes” – Joshua Radin

“Roar” – Katy Perry

“Patient Love” – Passenger

“Cross That Line” – Joshua Radin

“Kiss Me” – Ed Sheeran

“Empty” – Ray LaMontagne

“Bulletproof Weeks” – Matt Nathanson

“Warm Whispers” – Missy Higgins

“Lovely Tonight” – Joshua Radin

“A Falling Through” – Ray LaMontagne

“Naughty Girl” – Beyonce

“Can I Stay” – Ray LaMontagne

“All of Me” – John Legend

“You Are the Best Thing” – Ray LaMontagne

About the Author ~ Melinda Harris

Melinda Harris

Melinda Harris currently resides in the great state of Georgia with her family. When she’s not writing, she likes to spend rainy nights with her nose in a good book and sunny days on a playground chasing her son. And most anytime – rain or shine – she can be found engaging in her favorite pastime, which of course is eating ice cream…lots and lots of ice cream.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7091610.Melinda_Harris
Website: http://melindaharrisauthor.com/
Twitter: @melharrisauthor

Happy Reading,

Alison

2 thoughts on “Review ~ Sometimes You Know @melharrisauthor

Leave a Reply

