Speedy Reviews ~ Breakable, My Forever June, Jesus Freaks, Safely Home & Forbidden Mind

I have really sucked at posting my reviews this year! I’ve been trying to play catch up. I hit goodreads, and I’ve been trying to say at least a little something about the books I’ve read, so I can at least keep track. I may have jotted a sentence or took the time to write more. I’m just going to have 5 reviews per post, though, so it’s not overwhelming. Therefore, look for more Speedy Review posts to follow!

Breakable (Contours of the Heart, #2)Breakable by Tammara Webber
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

4.5 Stars! Easy from his perspective. If you loved Easy, I don’t see how you couldn’t love Breakable!

View all my reviews

My Forever JuneMy Forever June by DeAnna Kinney
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

4.5 Stars This was fast-paced and emotionally gripping. I tore through it in just a couple hours. The POV rotates between Tucker & June giving you a taste of what they’re both feeling as they fall in love. The emotional part comes in with an unheard of medical condition on Tucker’s behalf. Needless to day, I was filled with dread for a good portion of the story. While I wouldn’t consider this story realistic, it was still a great read.

View all my reviews

Jesus Freaks: Sins of the FatherJesus Freaks: Sins of the Father by Andrea Randall
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

4.5 Stars!

Not a Jesus Freak? Doesn’t matter! Jesus Freak? You should read this, too! This book takes you to school…Carter University, one of the leading Christian conservative colleges, to be exact. The catch is, you ride along with the illegitimate daughter of a high profile pastor. Let me not forget her mother has been a strong part of Planned Parenthood and other women’s rights and gay rights organizations and events. This book gives you a broad view, and to the humble, it may highly affect your judgments of those not on the same side of the fence you’re on – no matter which side that is.

View all my reviews

Safely Home (Watkins Ridge)Safely Home by Ruth Logan Herne
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

3.5 Stars!
This story took me a little while to get into. I’m not sure what it was lacking, but it just didn’t capture my interest until I was almost done. It was hard in the beginning to tell who the speaker was. Even when I could tell, it seemed as if Cress was speaking of herself in the 3rd person making it more confusing. Then there were two separate stories going on, but no clue as to how they related until towards the end. A lot of the characters are Christian, but you won’t find Christianity being “shoved” down your throat if that bothers you. There is some mild language. I also felt the relationship between Cress and Alex felt a little rushed.
On a positive note, I think there was a lot of potential to the story, just that it needed some polishing. I loved the heart behind the main characters.

View all my reviews

Forbidden Mind (The Forbidden Trilogy, #1)Forbidden Mind by Karpov Kinrade
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

First let me say that I started out a little confused. However, despite being confused more than once, I really got into the book. I was sucked in and even surprised by the turns the plot took. It kept me on my toes! I’d only recommend this to very mature YA. There is some extreme violence that takes place and even talk of rape of children. It isn’t for the faint of heart. Another lighter note ~ it ends on a cliffhanger! I’m looking forward to seeing where the story goes next!

View all my reviews

Happy Reading,

Alison

Leave a Reply

