Review ~ The Princess Bride by William Goldman

The Princess Bride

A tale of true love and high adventure, pirates, princesses, giants, miracles, fencing, and a frightening assortment of wild beasts – The Princess Bride is a modern storytelling classic.

As Florin and Guilder teeter on the verge of war, the reluctant Princess Buttercup is devastated by the loss of her true love, kidnapped by a mercenary and his henchmen, rescued by a pirate, forced to marry Prince Humperdinck, and rescued once again by the very crew who absconded with her in the first place. In the course of this dazzling adventure, she’ll meet Vizzini – the criminal philosopher who’ll do anything for a bag of gold; Fezzik – the gentle giant; Inigo – the Spaniard whose steel thirsts for revenge; and Count Rugen – the evil mastermind behind it all. Foiling all their plans and jumping into their stories is Westley, Princess Buttercup’s one true love and a very good friend of a very dangerous pirate.

91f20-addtogoodreads

amazon

My *****5 Star***** Review

I was barely into the book and laughing hysterically. I read this as part of a book club I’m in. This is one of the books I put into the figurative hat we draw our pick from. I was looking at someone’s “Top 10 Must Read Books List” and saw this on there. I had no idea that this was another book to movie. One of my friends in the book club is in love with the movie. I’ve only seen it in bits and pieces, but wasn’t overly impressed. It’s been a while, though, so I wanted to see it again and from start to finish. Of course, when I realized it was a book, I wanted to read the book before doing so. As I mentioned before I was barely into the book and laughing hysterically. If you’re one for satire, then this book is for you! I kept marking tons of quotes to share with my friends that had me rolling! Here’s just one of the many scenes that had me cracking up ~

“Do you love me, Westley? Is that it?”
He couldn’t believe it. “Do I love you? My God, if your love were a grain of sand, mine would be a universe of beaches. If your love were-”
“I don’t understand that first one yet,” Buttercup interrupted.

Yes, Buttercup is a ditz, and Westley doesn’t mind telling her so, which just adds to the hilarity. I actually look forward to reading this to my kids later. There’s all sorts of adventure mixed in that will appeal to boys, too. There are sword fights, poisonings, and torture, but they are shared in a manner that can be downright comical. Some parts will upset you a little and have you thinking that all things don’t work out fairly. However, that’s the author’s point in the story – that life just isn’t always fair. What a great message!

Spoiler Alert!!! ~ The best part of the whole story for me, though, came after I finished reading the whole story. I started to do a little online research and discovered that despite Goldman saying that this is an abridged version, he actually wrote the whole thing, and his little personal comments are all just a part of the story! He made them all up! I was completely suckered!!!! I thought it was genius!

Recommendations ~ I recommend this to everyone! I’m looking forward to watching the movie now after having read the book. I imagine I’ll appreciate it a whole lot more. Since Goldman wrote his own screenplay, I hope not to be disappointed!

About the Author ~ William Goldman

William Goldman
Goldman grew up in a Jewish family in Highland Park, Illinois, a Chicago suburb, and obtained a BA degree at Oberlin College in 1952 and an MA degree at Columbia University in 1956.His brother was the late James Goldman, author and playwright.

William Goldman had published five novels and had three plays produced on Broadway before he began to write screenplays. Several of his novels he later used as the foundation for his screenplays. In the 1980s he wrote a series of memoirs looking at his professional life on Broadway and in Hollywood (in one of these he famously remarked that “Nobody knows anything”). He then returned to writing novels. He then adapted his novel The Princess Bride to the screen, which marked his re-entry into screenwriting.
Goldman has won two Academy Awards: an Academy Award for Writing Original Screenplay for Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, and an Academy Award for Writing Adapted Screenplay for All the President’s Men. He has also won two Edgar Awards, from the Mystery Writers of America, for Best Motion Picture Screenplay: for Harper in 1967, and for Magic (adapted from his own 1976 novel) in 1979.

Happy Reading,

Alison

2 thoughts on “Review ~ The Princess Bride by William Goldman

Leave a Reply

