Review ~ Holiday Affair by Annie Seaton

Holiday

Staid professor Lissy McIntyre believes that choosing a mate should be based on common sense, not runaway passion. And she would certainly never pick a rolling stone like Nick Richards for long-term love. But a red-hot, tropical romance? Oh, yeah. He’s got a body just made for sinning and his sizzling kisses leave her senseless.

When Nick blows into town, he’s stunned to discover that his no-nonsense new neighbor and co-worker is the same sultry creature he seduced for one night of forbidden island pleasure. He’s unaccustomed to staying in one place for long, but he just can’t seem to keep his hands off the multi-faceted woman. Will Nick break loyal Lissy’s heart or will she be the one woman he simply can’t walk away from?

My ***3.5 Star*** Review

In the first chapters of the book, I struggled to get through. I didn’t see anything at all worth liking in Nick, and I didn’t understand how Lissy could be attracted to an absolute jerk. It may not work this way for all women, but if a man is an arrogant butthead, I see that as an instant turn-off. However, I trudged on. I know some books are slow to get started, and sometimes characters redeem themselves.
I’m thankful to say that this is one of those times. I found myself intrigued when I was finished with the fourth chapter. A little twist in the story is what did it for me – one I didn’t see coming. So, that livened the story up for me big time, and it became a page flipper from that point on.
Ultimately I began to like Nick, but I never fell in love with him. I never fully connected to Lissy, but she was likable enough.
I was a little disappointed in the finish. It seemed a bit rushed for my tastes, but overall the story was a decent read. I don’t regret the time I spent reading it.
Would I recommend it? Hmm. Well, I picked this book up as a freebie. I don’t recall if I got it for signing up for a newsletter or won it, but I got it free somehow. If you do that, then I’d say it’s worth the read. However, I don’t know that I’d pay for this one. This is Annie’s debut novel, however, so I look forward to reading a newer work of hers and seeing how the writing compares. I saw improvements in this story alone as it went on, so I’m betting I’d see the same improvement in her later books.

About the Author ~ Annie Seaton

annie

Annie Seaton lives on the beautiful east coast of Australia, where she loves sitting in her writing chair, gazing at the ocean and writing stories. She has always been fascinated by romance and has found her niche writing contemporary romance.
Her debut novel, Holiday Affair, a contemporary romance set in the South Pacific was released as part of Entangled Publishing’s Indulgence. The sequel Italian Affair was published Spring 2013, followed quickly by Outback Affair,Dangerous DesireHot Rock is a rock star hot romance. Tangling with the CEO! e Brushing off the Boss are the first two books in the Half Moon Bay series
Blind Lust, is one of Annie’s favorite novels. Despite the title…it is a sweet romance about a witch and her difficult choice between two men.

Goodreads * Website * Twitter

Happy Reading,

Alison

Leave a Reply

