Standing By ~ Review, Giveaway – 4 winners & Interview w/ Claudia

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000037_00032]

Mitch Knight

1. Loves a good challenge
2. Never turns his back on a dare
3. Loves to create nicknames
4. Nobody cooks better than him
5. Doesn’t believe in love

When Parker Welsh sells Mitch Knight his organic restaurant, Willows, he not only gives Mitch ownership; but everything entangled with it. Including the annoying pastry chef who supplies the muffins and cupcakes.

Hayley Roth-Welsh

1. Loves To-Do Lists and Five-Year Plans
2. Has her dream job of baking sweets
3. Always tries to make others happy
4. Never seems to succeed with her family
5. Is still a virgin, waiting for love

Hayley played by her mother’s rules for the first eighteen years of her life, instead of heading to college as her family expected, she rebelled and opened a bakery, Pieces of Heaven. Her family expects her to fail and head back to school and their wish may come true once Parker sells his restaurant to the handsome, arrogant Mitchel Knight. It’s either join forces with him or lose her dream.

Release Date ~ September 23, 2014

Interview with Claudia Burgoa

1. After reading your bio, my first question is whether or not you sleep?!? How do you fit it all in???

Yes, I sleep about five hours a night… I’ll cash in those three missing hours someday. And I guess that’s how I fit everything, with those hours I skip of sleep ☺

2. Do you ever see writing becoming a full-time job? I’m still not believing you have a day job and 3 kids!

I hope I do… but time will say. Those three kids like to keep me on my toes must of the time. ☺

3. How did you get started writing?

I always enjoyed making up stories, but I took it seriously seven years ago. My son has autism, and it was between therapies and waiting rooms that I began to doodle with words and created my first stories.

4. Where do you normally come up with the ideas for your stories?

The news, or whatever my oldest daughter tells me about her friends… he, he.

5. What authors/books have you enjoyed or been influenced by?

Meg Cabot, Nora Roberts, Paulo Coelho, Sophie Kinsella, Maryann Keyes… I enjoy reading a lot more, but they also influence my style.

6. If someone wants to give one of your books a try for the first time, which book would you recommend they start with?

I’ll say Standing By, it’s the fun, light hearted one.

7. Do you have any quirky writing habits?

Always have my hair away from my face, water and music.

8. Is there anything you never get asked about, but wished you did?

Not really…

9. Do you have any advice for new writers?

Always write and read; never give up.

10. What can your readers expect next?

My next book is a standalone novel: Unlike Any Other. It is about a daughter and a famous father trying to find themselves and fix their family. It’s told from two different perspectives and two different time lines [Present and 1980s]
Also I’m working on the third book of the Knight’s Tale… Liam and Kendall story. Yes, that Kendall from Standing By ☺

My ****4.5 Star**** Review

Standing By is the second book in A Knight’s Tale series, however, it will work fine as a stand-alone. You can read my review of the first book in the series, Getting By, HERE.
I think Claudia took a step up with this second book! I didn’t see any of the problems I saw present in the first book. It was a fast-paced read, and I couldn’t put it down! I felt a full array of emotions while reading, too. There was angst, excitement, sadness, romance, and plenty of comedy, too.
I love how Mitch’s story felt so completely different from his brother’s as it should have. I also enjoyed seeing the growth that took place with the characters. Hayley herself struggled with overcoming her circumstances and while she’s striving in some areas, she’s very much floundering in others. I really enjoyed seeing her overcome.
And what can I say about Mitch? He is absolutely amazing with Hayley! I loved that their relationship was built on so much more than lust as many romances are today. Don’t get me wrong, though, there’s still plenty of chemistry with this couple! But Mitch knew how to drive Hayley crazy, especially with his various nicknames all revolving around her baking business. But, he’s so completely supportive of her business and he’s willing to do what it takes to help her succeed when her family doesn’t.
While there are some completely predictable moments in the story, it was still so much fun. Mitch and Hayley are absolutely comical together. Plus, there’s just the right amount of drama from outside the two of them to really make things interesting.
I highly recommend this to all romance fans! If you haven’t picked up a Claudia Burgoa book yet, then start with this one! I don’t think you’ll be disappointed!
Warnings: You can expect some strong language and sex scenes.

Giveaway Time!!!

keep

Grand Prize

A signed copy of book one and two and a pendant

First Prize

A signed copy of book two and a pendant

Second & Third Prizes

(2)A kindle copies of both books

Click HERE to Enter!

About the Author ~ Claudia Burgoa

Claudia Burgoa

Born on the mystical day of October 30th in the not so mystical lands of Mexico City, Claudia grew up with a childhood that resembled a caffeine-injected soap opera. Seventeen years ago she ventured to the lands of her techie husband—a.k.a. the U.S.—with their offspring to start a new adventure.

She now lives in Colorado working as a CFO for a small IT company, managing her household filled with three confused dogs, said nerd husband, two daughters wrought with fandoms and a son who thinks he’s the boss of the house. To survive she works continually to find purpose for the voices flitting through her head, plus she consumes high quantities of chocolate to keep the last threads of sanity intact.

Website * Amazon * Facebook * Twitter * Google+ * Pinterest * Bloglovin * Goodreads

Happy Reading,

Alison

2 thoughts on “Standing By ~ Review, Giveaway – 4 winners & Interview w/ Claudia

  1. Pingback: Kindle Freebies ~ 11/11/14 | Ali's Books

  2. Pingback: Kindle Freebies ~ 11/12/14 | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

