Book to Movie Review ~ Mockingjay Part 1

mockingjay

My 4.5 Star Review

Let me start by saying that this is my review of how well the movie was in comparison to the book. If you haven’t read the books or watched the movies, then I must warn you that this review will be full of spoilers!

As you can see from my 4.5 stars, I was pretty pleased with the movie. One of my favorite things about this movie was Katniss and the emotion that she displayed throughout the entire movie. You could see her love for her sister and mother so clearly. You could see the pain she felt in visiting the devastation of District 12. You could feel the wretchedness she felt watching the hospital being bombed and then her anger that followed. Best of all for me, though, was the emotion she showed concerning Peeta. I actually teared up with her the first time she saw Peeta on the TV screen and realized he was alive. The emotions were powerful! I loved visibly seeing her love for him! Then with the rescue scene (the movie extended this scene, but it worked well), when Katniss was petrified of losing both Peeta and Gale at the same time – so good!

I didn’t enjoy not seeing much of Peeta, but you could visibly see the deterioration in him as he was being poisoned. He did such a good job in his last interview with Caesar Flickerman when he warned them about the capitol coming for them. You could see the raw emotions and the struggle he was going through. Then the scene where Katniss first comes into the room with him was so realistic. It was painful to watch but a great portrayal.

I was really curious about where they would end the movie. It ends shortly after Peeta’s attack on Katniss with their reuniting. I really had hoped it would go a little further giving you hope about his overcoming the damage done to him, but that will be saved for part 2. I can’t believe I have to wait another year for it. I’m not at all disappointed, however, that they turned this book into two movies. I think too many good details would have been left out.

If you’re wondering about whether it’s appropriate for your children, my personal opinion would be that it’s fine if you thought the first two movies were okay.

So, I look forward to hearing your thoughts on the book/movie!

Happy Reading,

Alison

2 thoughts on “Book to Movie Review ~ Mockingjay Part 1

  1. I haven’t seen this one yet so I skimmed past your review. Thanks for the warning about spoilers:) I’m encouraged by your rating. I just can’t make up my mind whether I’ll wait until all of the parts are on DVD before I’ll watch them. I hate waiting so long between each one.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

