Book to Movie Review ~ Confessions of a Shopaholic

confessions

She’s a journalist. She spends her working life telling others how to manage their money.
She spends her leisure time … shopping.

Retail therapy is the answer to all her problems. She knows she should stop, but she can’t. She tries Cutting Back, she tries Making More Money. But neither seems to work. The stories she concocts become more and more fantastic as she tries to untangle her increasingly dire financial difficulties. Her only comfort is to buy herself something – just a little something…

Can Becky ever escape from this dream world, find true love, and regain the use of her Switch card?

Confessions movie

My Review

This will be a book & movie review/comparision combined. I give the book 3.5 stars and the movie 4 stars. Some will find this SPOILERISH!! Be forewarned! I don’t give specifics, though.

Starting with the book, I enjoyed the writing style. It was a fast-paced read. I just had a problem with Becky. I kept looking for some redeeming qualities. I wanted to like her sooo much. Now, there were some funny parts, and she did do some things that were honorable. Those things were just few and far between. I’m not sure that any real lessons were ever learned. A fellow friend that read it alongside me actually suggested the girl has a real mental illness. I wouldn’t go that far, but she definitely has issues that I couldn’t see past. It’s definitely not one I’d recommend to a young lady when trying to teach responsibility. So, I just couldn’t fall in love with it like I know so many others have. However, if her personality wouldn’t bother you, I wouldn’t hesitate to tell you to pick it up. As I mentioned, I enjoyed the writing, just not the moral of the story so to speak. Having not read the rest of the series, I can’t speak as to if she ever really learns anything.

Now to the movie. I enjoyed it a WHOLE lot more. There are redeeming qualities and lessons learned. Becky still starts out the same way as in the book. But, you see a gradual change. You root for her and aren’t disappointed at the outcome. Obviously it deviates greatly from the book. Most of the time this drives me absolutely batty. In this case, I was thrilled. It’s definitely a fun chick flick to catch with your girls! Not to mention, there’s a nice romance thrown in.

To sum it up, I recommend the movie over the book. *GASP* I know, I know. That hardly EVER happens. It did this time, though. I’d be curious to hear from any fans of the series. Does she ever have a real turning point?

Happy Reading,

Alison

3 thoughts on “Book to Movie Review ~ Confessions of a Shopaholic

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 1/25/15 | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

