Review ~ A Tale of Two Cities

tale

‘Liberty, equality, fraternity, or death; — the last, much the easiest to bestow, O Guillotine!’

After eighteen years as a political prisoner in the Bastille, the ageing Doctor Manette is finally released and reunited with his daughter in England. There the lives of two very different men, Charles Darnay, an exiled French aristocrat, and Sydney Carton, a disreputable but brilliant English lawyer, become enmeshed through their love for Lucie Manette. From the tranquil roads of London, they are drawn against their will to the vengeful, bloodstained streets of Paris at the height of the Reign of Terror, and they soon fall under the lethal shadow of La Guillotine.

My *****5 Star***** Review

As is usual for me when reading a new classical author, I struggled through the first little bit just aquainting myself with the language. Then it I must confess that I continued to struggle because I couldn’t yet see how all of the little pieces Dickens gives you are woven together. Oh, but when it started to all come together it was absolutely AMAZING!

This story is full of love ( and sacrificial love – the greatest of all), hate, revenge, and so many other raw emotions. I am so very thankful that I stuck with it through the hard parts, as it was so worth it reading the final page with tears running down my face.

This is also a great novel in that it opens a door into the hearts and struggles of those that suffered through the dark times of the French Revolution. I feel like I have a better grasp on that time period than ever before. You witness the struggles the citizens faced beforehand, their reactions, and the consequences of it all.

I feel the need to personally thank Cassandra Clare. If it hadn’t been for her characters debating Sydney and Charles, I don’t know that I would have picked this book up. So, a many great thanks to you, Cassandra!!!

Happy Reading,

Alison

One thought on “Review ~ A Tale of Two Cities

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 2/8/15 | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

