Review ~ Consequences by Aleatha Romig

consequences

Title: Consequences

Series: Consequences #1

Author: Aleatha Romig

Release Date: Aug. 5, 2011

Genre: Contemporary Dark Suspense/Thriller/Erotic

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Aleatha Romig comes a suspenseful thriller about secrets and deception, passion and love, choices and consequences.

Every action has consequences.

Waking in an unfamiliar bedroom in a luxurious mansion, Claire Nichols is terrified to discover that a chance encounter led her into the cruel hands of her abductor, Anthony Rawlings. Claire has no understanding of why she’s there, but it’s been made abundantly clear–she is now his acquisition and every action has consequences.

Learn the rules to survive.

Facing incomprehensible circumstances, Claire must learn to survive her new reality–every aspect of her livelihood depends upon the tall, dark-eyed tycoon who is a true master of deception. Driven by unknown demons, he has no tolerance for imperfection, in any aspect of his life, including his recent acquisition. Anthony may appear to the world as a handsome, benevolent businessman, but in reality Claire knows firsthand that he’s a menacing, controlling captor with very strict rules: do as you’re told, public failure is not an option, and appearances are of the utmost importance.

Captivate the captor.

To fit together the pieces of the puzzle, Claire must follow his rules. Will her plan work, or will Anthony become enthralled by Claire’s beauty, resilience, and determination, changing the game forever? If that happens, will either of them survive the consequences?

Nobody ever did or ever will escape the consequences of his choices.–Alfred A. Montapert

Amazon * Goodreads

My ****4 Star**** Review

Wow. This was a twisted one! If you like dark and mysterious then this may be the book for you. If you like spinning psychological tales where you can’t tell who the bad guy is or what’s really happening, then this may be for you.

I have to confess that I put this book down almost half way through, and didn’t pick it back up for quite a while. I couldn’t see where it was going and it was driving me crazy. I actually took a peak at the ending to see if I liked where it was going and determined I didn’t.

Well, after reading a review for the most recent book in the series, I realized I didn’t at all know where the story was going. The end of book one was misleading. So, I decided to give it another try.

Turns out I had put the book down right before things started getting interesting. And that ending? Well, I had COMPLETELY misinterpreted it because there were key details I didn’t know yet.

Am I happy I picked it back up? Yes. Will I continue with the series? Maybe. Okay, probably. It’s not one where I’m dying to know what’s next, but I’m definitely intrigued. I’m just not sure if I can handle the mind assault at this moment.

*****************************************

I’ve been reading a LOT of books like this lately – books where you just can’t figure out what on earth is going on. The Nocte series, Mud Vein, and Never,Never. I’m sure I can add more to the list, but these are all books I’ve read this year. This seems to be a growing trend, and I’m still not sure how I feel about it. I’m one to flip to the end because I’m dying to know if things will work out okay, and in these books, things aren’t always okay. I can handle that every now and then, but I feel like my mind needs a break – like I need to get lost in a sappy love story where everything is hunky dory. That’s hilarious, because usually those are boring….

Happy Reading,

Alison

One thought on “Review ~ Consequences by Aleatha Romig

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 2/22/15 | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

