Review ~ Crave the Rose

crave

Title: Crave the Rose

Author: Karen Kincy

Publication Date: Feb. 14, 2015

Genre: Contemporary New Adult Romance

While studying abroad at Oxford, Cassia loses her boyfriend in an accident–the night after she catches him screwing another girl. Only Bram, an Irish charmer whose wolfish smile hides his darkest secrets, makes her feel anything but numb. Cassia refuses to be hurt again. This is sex, nothing more, with three little rules:

No cheating.
No lies.
No falling in love.

But rules are made to be broken…

My ***3.5 Star*** Review

This is one of those books that I really enjoyed the overall plot and idea of the characters, but something in the execution was off for me.

Things I enjoyed ~
There are some great one-liners in the story. There were even some fun dialogues here and there.
I liked that Bram had epilepsy. It’s not something overly common in books today. Oh, and he’s Irish, so I couldn’t help but imagine a pretty cool accent!
Unpredictable. I wasn’t sure where the story was heading. It had some very unique elements. Oh, and a twist.
I laughed.
There was also an intense, hold your breath, scary moment.

Things that I had some problems with~
There were multiple times that I couldn’t tell who the speaker was.
The characters were a little bit flat. I wanted the author to dig into them a little more, so I could understand them better.
Cassia could be down right mean sometimes, making it hard for me to comprehend Bram’s attraction.
Sometimes the sex came off a little weird for me.

Overall, I liked the story, but I mostly wanted more depth in the characters. Would I read another book of Ms. Kincy’s? Yes. I’d definitely be open to reading more from her!

Happy Reading,

Alison

One thought on “Review ~ Crave the Rose

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 3/22/15 | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

