Review ~ The Will

will

Title: The Will

Series: Magdalene #1

Author: Kristen Ashley

Publication Date: April 8, 2014

Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance

Early in her life, Josephine Malone learned the hard way that there was only one person she could love and trust: her grandmother, Lydia Malone. Out of necessity, unconsciously and very successfully, Josephine donned a disguise to keep all others at bay. She led a globetrotting lifestyle on the fringes of the fashion and music elite, but she kept herself distant.

While Josephine was trotting the globe, retired boxer Jake Spear was living in the same small town as Lydia. There was nothing disguised about Jake. Including the fact he made a habit of making very bad decisions about who to give his love.

But for Josephine and Jake, there was one person who adored them. One person who knew how to lead them to happiness. And one person who was intent on doing it.

Even if she had to do it as her final wish on this earth.

Goodreads * Amazon

My ****4.5**** Star Review

I love Kristen Ashley’s writng style. There were times that Ashley really appealed to my senses and made me feel like I was right there in the story. I loved the unpredictableness of the story. I constantly had the feeling that I knew what was coming, but I was ALWAYS wrong! It was awesome!

Sometimes Josephine comes off as a bit vain. But, she has such a HUGE heart that shines through, and not just for Jake. You can’t help but want great things for her. she has an endearing klutziness, and she’s very naive to the real world after spending so much time in posh society. There were a couple times that her actions or thoughts seemed to contradict her personality, but these moments were few. The book is mostly from her perspective, but sometimes you’re graced with Jake’s.

I love Jake. The only complaint revolves around the alphaness. Now, don’t get me wrong. I LOVE alpha males. Ok, so the only other books I’ve read of Ashley’s so far is her Unfinished Hero series. I just noticed when reading those, and this book, that her males seem to all talk alike. They all like to drop pronoun usage for instance. Here’s an example: “Hair looks good down, honey.” Most people would have said “Your” at the beginning. Now, of course, we tend to all drop pronouns from time to time. I’m just pointing this out because it seems like her alphas do this consistently, so it stands out, and tends to make her alphas seem a little to similar in speech for me. Now that I’ve pointed that out, while Jake’s speech was too similar to other characters for me, he still has a very distinct personality that shines through! I loved that his love for both Josephine and his children shines brightly!

I laughed. A LOT!!! There were some really great exchanges that just had me giddy, too, and one of these was with minor characters. There are multiple minor characters that play big roles in this story, and I’m impressed with how well developed they are. The overall family dynamics you see with Jake and his kids is great, too!

So, while this book had some things that I thought could have been improved on, the overall book was wonderful! 4.5 Beautiful stars!! I cannot wait to dig into book 2, Soaring!!

Happy Reading,

Alison

2 thoughts on “Review ~ The Will

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 3/28/15 | Ali's Books

  2. Pingback: March Top Picks | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

