Review ~ The One

the one

Title: The One

Series: The Selection #3

Author: Kiera Cass

Publication Date: May 6, 2014

Genre: YA Sci-Fi/Dystopian Romance

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

Goodreads * Amazon

My *****5 Star***** Review

LOVED this series! Oh, there were definitely plenty of times that I wanted to jump in and knock some sense into both America and Maxon, but hey, that’s expected.

What I didn’t expect was some of the high-intensity moments of violence that added so much to the plot.

Oh, but we all know the heart of this story revolves around America, Maxon, and Aspen. I won’t spend a lot of time talking about the other stuff.

So, I’ve read from a lot of reviewers that America frustrated them most in this book. It wasn’t that way for me, though. While she certainly had me pulling my hair, it was Maxon that I really wanted to stand up. It’s always been clear to me that America has just been waiting on him to do so, and I’m old fashioned like that – I agree! He steps up, she follows. Anywhoo, this all built and built to one powerfully dramatic climax where Maxon had me totally swooning! He’s just AMAZEBALLS like that!

Now back to the other, we get a lot of new explanations and answers as to the revolution, but we’re still left with lots of questions. The ending reminded me of Twilight like that. But, with The Heir coming out, I expect to get more of those answers. Can’t wait!!

Happy Reading,

Alison

One thought on “Review ~ The One

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 4/5/15 | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

