Review ~ Awakening You by Jessica Sorensen

awakening

Title: Awakening You

Series: Unraveling You #3

Author: Jessica Sorensen

Publication Date: Mar. 24, 2015

Genre: YA Contemporary Romance / Drama


Lately, life has been going well for Ayden. His relationship with Lyric is starting to heat up and his career in music is taking off. But the disappearance of his sister still weighs heavily on his mind.

Desperate to find out where his sister is, Ayden decides to take drastic measures. But his dangerous risk leads to the unraveling of secrets, and heโ€™s left facing a darker past then he ever could have imagined.

Goodreads * Amazon

My ****4.5 Star**** Review

If you haven’t read the first two books in the series, then this will contain spoilers. It may even seem spoilerish if you have read them, so be forewarned.

Ayden has so thoroughly captured my heart with all the pain he has to endure. I know I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again. Jessica knows how to write pain. I just want to be like Lila and wrap my protective mothering arms around him.

I was soooo happy to see some growth in his opening up to touch in this book. Things start to spice up a bit in this story, and as a result the cat is let out of the bag with their families.

Ayden’s also growing impatient in this book as he fears for his sister’s safety. He learns some new info that possibly means things are even more disturbing than he thought.

I have to say that Lyric annoys me a little with her steady obsession with the band. I’d have to put that on hold myself. Otherwise, she’s very supportive and I appreciate it in her.

This book ends on another cliffhanger with Ayden making a huge decision with gigantic risks. Highly frustrating!! I can’t wait for the next one!

Happy Reading,

Alison,

7 thoughts on “Review ~ Awakening You by Jessica Sorensen

  1. I’ve been meaning to read this author’s books, but haven’t gotten around to it. I thought this genre was New Adult fiction. I’ll have to look at my goodreads again. Thanks for the review. Always looking for a good romance series.

    • You’ll find a mixed verdict on the YA/NA thing with this series. They’re still in high school and there hasn’t been any sex scenes, so I gave it a YA tag. There are some strong issues being faced, though, so I would say it’s a mature YA. As the books progress, it looks like they’ll probably move into NA. Hope that helps clarify if this is for you. Thanks!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’ve yet to read this series. The cover is sweet and I enjoy character driven stories. Sounds like these grow with each book. Thanks for another wonderful review:)

    • To be honest the covers have bugged me a little. I’d think from looking at the covers of this series that these were some steamy books. They’re not. Ayden has a fear of touch, and he’s just now in book 3 starting to overcome his fear of touching. He thinks he’s been abused, but his memory has been wiped, so he’s not even sure. Thanks!!

  3. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 4/12/15 | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

