Review ~ The Mason List

mason

Title: The Mason List

Author: S. D. Hendrickson

Publication Date: Jan. 10, 2015

Genre: NA Contemporary Romance


An epic love. An epic hate. An epic story that would last a lifetime.

Today, 8:15 p.m.
I hurt. I hurt so deeply, I felt the pain searing in my bones and jabbing like a hot poker into my heart. I knew nothing would make it better as the memories pulled from the crevices of my mind, detailing the bad and the ugly, filling my thoughts with regret as I slipped into the darkness. . .

When I was eight, my mother was dying of cancer, my father lost his job, and the bank kicked us out of our house. I was forced to move to the strange town of Arlis, Texas where my father and I slept in our car in the hospital parking lot. Desperate and hopeless, we lived on fumes of our former life.

Then one night, everything changed forever. A knock on the car window brought a family into my life that I only wanted to shut out. I hated charity and I hated the Masons. Well, except one. He made it impossible to hate him.

Jess Mason had the biggest blue eyes and ornery smile of any boy I had ever seen. He was a ray of sunshine in my dark world. A boy full of adventure, dragging me across the meadow of Sprayberry Ranch; a beautiful Texas paradise full of horses and tree houses that got us into more trouble than anyone ever imagined.

Jess was my everything as a kid until we grew up and the rules changed. Instead of living happily ever after with a boy full of love. . . I destroyed it.
– Alex Tanner

Author Note: The Mason List is a coming-of-age story that follows the life of Alex Tanner from the age of six to twenty-six. The novel crosses the genres of Young Adult and New Adult. The Mason List is a standalone, 118,940 word, full-length novel.

Goodreads * Amazon

My ****4.5 Star**** Review

This is one of those books that sucks you right in from the start. I had a strong sense of dread laced with hope from the opening scene. There’s a whole lot of mystery in the first scene. You know all the answers will be gradually laid out for you, but you can’t wait for them!

Oh, but you’ll have to because you’re going to take a trip all the way back to when Alex was 6. You’re going to see the slow painful dissolve of her family. But, then there will be hope in the form of the Masons. One particular Mason, Jess, will really bring hope. But, you’ll be reading knowing that you’re feeling that hope while Alex is still broken. You’ll love the slow gradual build up of the love between Jess and Alex, but it’ll be laced with glimpses of the present that aren’t pretty. It won’t make sense. You’ll be dying to know what’s going on, but those answers will come very slowly. Alex will frustrate you to no end.

Okay. I have to confess. I had to flip to the end at 46% in. I just couldn’t take it anymore!!! The angst. The tension. The questions. The fear. The dread!!!!

Oh, but I still found that I was freaking out. Things seem to get more and more intense and sometimes very UGLY!!! At one point I wanted to puke!

To sum things up, this one one highly emotional read. I wanted soooo much more of these characters. I could have kept reading and reading! This book will make you FEEL! This is one heck of a debut novel for Ms. Hendrickson!! I can’t wait for her next one!

Happy Reading,

Alison

2 thoughts on “Review ~ The Mason List

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 4/12/15 | Ali's Books

  2. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #33 | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

