Review ~ Gone Girl

gone

Title: Gone Girl

Author: Gillian Flynn

Publication Date: Jan. 1, 2012

Genre: Contemporary Adult Fiction/Mystery/Suspense

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media–as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents–the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter–but is he really a killer?
As the cops close in, every couple in town is soon wondering how well they know the one that they love. With his twin sister, Margo, at his side, Nick stands by his innocence. Trouble is, if Nick didn’t do it, where is that beautiful wife? And what was in that silvery gift box hidden in the back of her bedroom closet?

Goodreads * Amazon

My ****4 Star**** Review

So, I have to confess that I was a little slow at getting into this one. However, I read it alongside a group of friends, and a couple of them devoured the book from page 1. I think it’s just a matter of personal preference. I want a hero/heroine. I want to connect with someone. This isn’t one of those books. But, if you’re a lover of “who done it” books, and you don’t need to feel faith in anyone, then this will probably be your book!

It is one giant mystery. I will say that it is highly probable that you will figure out who did it, too. But, it’s still not predictable. Even if you figure it out, you won’t have figured out the whole scenario, and you’ll still be impressed. I was, and I didn’t even really “like” the book. I can respect the writing and the story, though. I have to admit that even though I didn’t like the characters (because of their character, not lack of development), I still found myself at times flipping quickly through the pages to figure something out.

Wrapping this up, if you NEED hearts and flowers, then this isn’t for you. If you love a good crime mystery, then I highly suggest it! Would I read another Gillian Flynn? It’s certainly possible.

Happy Reading,

Alison

5 thoughts on “Review ~ Gone Girl

  1. The best part of this book, in my opinion, is that I enjoyed it while my friend hated it, (she still gives it dirty looks if she sees it) and we still had plenty to talk about when we discussed it. It’s one of those books that most people are going to have strong feelings for, one way or the other.

    • I sooo agree! I read this with a group of friends and really enjoyed our discussion! We even watched the movie together afterwards to compare and contrast.

  2. I haven’t read this book yet.. I tend to avoid popular books although, the hype has finally gotten to me. This does sound appealing & your review is amazing 🙂

    • I love to read it all – unfortunately there’s just not enough time. LOL! I really love to discuss books, so I tend to read a lot of popular books for this reason alone. Then I try to push my unheard of faves on everyone so I can discuss those, too. LOL! Glad you liked the review!!

  3. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 4/19/15 | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

