Stacking the Shelves #27

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.

Okay. Another panic attack averted. I tried to get onto my blog earlier and it wasn’t pulling up. I kept getting the connection problem, but it was just for my blog. UGH!!!! But, then viola! It’s there. Crisis over. But let me tell you about my morning and last night. I wake at 7:30. As I’m climbing off my bed, the phone rings. It’s someone calling to verify that they’ll be dropping my new washing machine off in 30 minutes. Great! So, my hubs goes to pull out the old one. NOT GREAT! The spigot falls off – water EVERYWHERE!!!! He’s in town grabbing parts now. Oh, but the fun didn’t start there. I didn’t even get home last night till 2:30am. Where was I??? The ER. Middle child was running at the ballpark, slipped, and slammed face first into the bleachers. I don’t know why it took 6 hrs for them to stitch his mouth up, but it did. He was super brave, though. Braver than mom apparently. I passed out right there in the room during the fourth stitch. GO MOM!!! Yeah. Super mom, I am not. Fortunately it was the last stitch and he did great. He even gets to tell everyone he was braver than me! Well, things could always be worse, so I’m still counting my blessings! I have a new washing machine and middle child is well – nothing was fractured and he still has all his teeth. Still, I hope your weekend has started out better than mine!!

Click on the title under the pics to go to Goodreads and catch the synopses.

From the library

library

I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
The Distance Between Lost and Found by Kathryn Holmes
The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

I might have said that I wasn’t ready for All the Bright Places, but I’m going to attempt it.

From Audible

red

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

So, that’s what I’ve picked up this week. What did you grab?

Happy Reading,

Alison

23 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves #27

  1. Ouch! Sounds like you had a rough start to the weekend! The kid sounds like a champ!

    I’ve been curious about the Red Queen, but have put off purchasing it. Love the cover. Great haul!

  2. Omigoodness! Our kiddos are always braver than we believe they will be and we forget sometimes that we are human. At least you have some good reads. The Red Queen has been popping up everywhere, including on the bestseller list.

    Enjoy and hope you get some rest after your ordeal. ~ Beth @ Perpetual New Girl

    • Yes! Today is a day of rest for us. We’re just going to stay home and chill today. I started listening to Red Queen yesterday, and I was quickly sucked in! Thanks!!

  3. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 4/19/15 | Ali's Books

  4. Oh wow, what a weekend you have had! Hope it got better! πŸ™‚ Great grab from the library and I hope you like Red Queen, it was only a meh book for me though I am curious to see what happens next. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier!

    • So far I’m enjoying it. I tend to read up to 10 books at a time, and it’s kept my attention better than the others so far. I think I’m to the point where I realize where the title comes from. Thanks for stopping by!

    • I’m really enjoying Red Queen right now. I’m scared to start All the Bright Places. I’ve been putting off reading it. For a while it seemed like every book I read was sad and I needed a period of happiness. I think I’m ready for it now. We’ll see. Thanks!!

  5. Oh my gosh that sounds crazy! I’m glad your kid is alright and you got a working washing machine though. I remember my husband went in for toe surgery and the day after when they were removing the bandage I almost fainted and the nurse had to watch over me lol so I understand what you went through.
    Awesome book haul! I want to read I’ll Meet you There and All the Bright Places, so excited for those two πŸ™‚
    Enjoy your books and have a great day!

    • Yikes! I really don’t know that it was the sight of it, although it was pretty nasty. I think I was just stressing over watching him go through it. I don’t know. We survived! Thanks for dropping by!

  6. I LOVED All the Bright Places even if it shattered my heart. Happy reading and thanks for stopping by Bitches n Prose

Leave a Reply

