Stacking the Shelves #28

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.

Thanks for taking the time to drop by today! If you’re curious how middle child is doing, his lip and cheek have healed quickly and nicely. He’ll have a little scar, but nothing too crazy. This week was calm – nothing overly exciting happening, until last night. I don’t know what it is about Friday evenings for us….So, we go to a bday party last night. My daughter is outside riding a bike and heads towards the house to put the bike up. Bike doesn’t stop. She nails the bricks on their house with her face. She busted both lips and has scratches all over her face. She had the slightest headache, but it was gone quickly. We kept an eye on her to make sure there were no signs of concussion, but she’s okay. Then we’re heading home and we hit a massive storm. One I surely didn’t feel comfortable driving in, but we were close to home when it hit. I’m driving very slowly watching for major branches or trees. We live in a heavily forested area. Another driver passes me and flashes his lights. I immediately tell my oldest that there’s probably a downed tree. So, I slow down even further. The guy behind me wasn’t getting the memo, though. So, I kept slowing down more and more. I didn’t want to get smashed between a tree and a truck. Of course the downed tree pops into view just over a hill in a bad blind spot – no warning. The truck has slacked off my tail a little at this point, so I know he has time to see me stop. But, he doesn’t. So I start laying on my horn. This guy stops with a few inches to spare between our vehicles. My poor kids were freaked. However, God decided to keep us safe and I’m thankful! I’m hoping I can greet you next Saturday without all the dramatic sidenotes!!

Click on the title under the pics to go to Goodreads and catch the synopses.

Ebook Purchases

stupid

alienated

Stupid Girl by Cindy Miles
Alienated by Melissa Landers

Ebooks for Review

pulled

Pulled by Amy Lichtenhan & A.L. Jackson

Audio Books

nightingale

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

That’s it for my haul this week. What did you pick up??

Happy Reading,

Alison

11 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves #28

  1. Alienated was really good, Ali! I hope you’ll enjoy both that and your other new books.

    Sounds like a very eventful ride both to and from the birthday party! I hope your daughter is OK, and I’m really happy the truck finally managed to stop before it was too late!

    Have a wonderful week ahead and happy reading 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 4/26/15 | Ali's Books

  3. I’m debating whether I should try The Nightingale or not. I’ve been seeing it everywhere!
    Alienated by Melissa Landers has an awesome cover. I hope it’s as good as it looks!

    Thanks for dropping by Tynga’s Reviews,
    Stéphanie

    • I’ve been seeing amazing reviews and ravings over The Nightingale, so I’m hoping it lives up to the hype! The cover of Alienated is definitely the first thing that caught my attention! Me, too!!

    • I just finished Stupid Girl and loved it from the absolutely start. I just started Alienated. It hasn’t won me over as amazing yet, but it’s interesting and still has potential to be amazing. I’ve only read about 4 or 5 chapters so far. So, my verdict is still out on it. I’ve seen so many great reviews for it that I have high hopes!

Leave a Reply

