Review ~ Dreamfire by Kit Alloway

dreamfire

Title: Dreamfire

Author: Kit Alloway

Publication Date: Feb. 24, 2015

Genre: YA Fantasy

Joshlyn Weaver has always lived with a big secret. Ordinary kids spend their free time going to the movies, hanging out with friends, and searching on the internet.

But for her, an evening at home usually means entering people’s dreams. For many generations, her family has been part of a very powerful and very secretive society of dream walkers. Tasked with the responsibility of lowering the world’s general anxiety — which only leads to war and strife in the waking world — their job has always been to stop nightmares before they go too far.
By stopping nightmares while sleeping, they help to stop nightmares in real life.

But when an ancient feud within the dream walker society resurfaces right when a seemingly unconnected series of very strange and very scary events start occurring during her dream walks, Josh finds herself in a race against time. The one true dream walker has never been known. Could she be the one?

Goodreads * Amazon

My ****4 Star**** Review

It was the uniqueness of this story that grabbed me the most. I enjoyed the fantasy elements and unpredictableness of them.

This book has a young YA feel to me. The characters are interesting but not extremely complex. Josh’s emotions seem to be all over the place. She can be very fickle. I think I would have enjoyed this book better if she would have been a little bit more mature. It became annoying that she was always saying one thing and then doing another. She’s supposedly falling for a boy, but with her reactions and thoughts all over the place, I didn’t feel it as strongly as a typical YA romance. So, I wouldn’t even really classify this as romantic, as it was the plot and fantasy elements that really drove this story for me.

It didn’t suck me in immediately, but it was always intriguing enough to make me want to keep turning the pages. There were some high intensity moments and plenty of mystery. There were times that I felt like I was begging for answers, and it really added to the story for me.

Overall, I really enjoyed the book. I just think that if Josh would have acted just a little bit more mature – adding to the romance side, I would have not liked this story, but loved it. I will warn you that you’re going to get a crazy whack ending!

Happy Reading,

Alison

3 thoughts on “Review ~ Dreamfire by Kit Alloway

  1. I read this one recently…I liked it but the MC bugged me a little too since it seemed like she was always acting before thinking…and Will didn’t really stand out to me much which is why I didn’t care much for the romance but I loved the craziness of the nightmares and the dream walking 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 5/3/15 | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

