The Sunday Post ~ 5/3/15

The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @

Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

~this meme was inspired in part by ~ In My Mailbox~

It’s a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.


I am sooo looking forward to a day of rest and relaxation and of course the best “R” word – READING! My kiddos have kept me very busy this week! I have two playing baseball right now, and that has consumed our nights and weekends. This week will probably be more of the same. We’ll be helping a couple friends move during the day.

Last Week on the Blog:
Sunday ~ The Sunday Post
Review: The Scorch Trials by James Dashner
Tuesday ~ Teaser Tuesday: Stupid Girl by Cindy Miles
Review: Dreamfire by Kit Alloway
Wednesday ~ Waiting on Wednesday: Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid
Thursday ~ Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury
Saturday ~ Stacking the Shelves

This Week on the Blog (Hopefully!):
Sunday ~ The Sunday Post
Monday ~ Review: The Distance Between Lost and Found by Kathryn Holmes
Tuesday ~ Teaser Tuesdays
Wednesday ~ Waiting on Wednesday
Thursday ~ Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
Friday ~ Kindle Freebies
Friday Finds
Saturday ~ Stacking the Shelves

Goals and Challenges:
Goodreads ~ I read 4 books this week, bringing my total for the year to 75. My goal is 150. I’m 25 books ahead of schedule right now.

Finishing the Series Reading Challenge ~ My goal for this challenge was 4 series. I didn’t read anything to count towards this this week, but I’ve already surpassed my goal. I’ve completed or caught up on 10 series so far this year.

2015 New Release Challenge ~ I read 1 new release this week, bringing my total to 24 of my goal of 45.

Books Read Last Week:
Pulled by A.L. Jackson
Stupid Girl by Cindy Miles
I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
Alienated by Melissa Landers

Books I Made Progress on Last Week:
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (reread)
Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost by Iain Reading
The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne
Arivaca by John Poulsen
King of the World by Randall Coleman
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

If you’re curious as to why I read so many books at once…Some I’m keeping pace with a book club, some I read a little aloud daily to my kids, some I just haven’t gotten into yet but I try to at least read a chapter a day. I really don’t like to DNF a book. I think it’s an OCD thing????

That sums up my progress for last week, and lets you know a little of what I have planned for the week. I’d love to hear how things are in your book world!!

Happy Reading,

Alison

10 thoughts on “The Sunday Post ~ 5/3/15

    • I tend to read till about 2 every morning. Some I read during the day aloud to my kids. I’m glad I’m not the only one that reads a lot all at once. My friends are always asking me how I keep them straight in my head. I’ve never struggled with that, though. Sometimes I’ll mix up plots between two books, but it’ll be later after I’ve already read them. I just equate it to the fact that most people manage to watch more than one TV series, and I’m sure they don’t mix them up. 🙂

  1. Children do know how to keep us busy, don’t they ? And when they grow old, parents do too… I’m afraid the only books I know (and have read) among those you listed are Jane Austen’s and Victor Hugo’s. Try to get some rest and take care 😉

    • LOL! Yes, my mom already adds to my plate, and she’s still in her 50’s. I’m rereading Pride and Prejudice for a book club. I’ve read it a few times. Emma is my favorite Jane Austen, though.

  2. 25 books ahead of schedule – that’s pretty impressive!!! I haven’t heard of some of the books on your list so might check them out. Am a bit Pride & Prejudice fan though!

    • Thanks! This is the first time I’ve been this far ahead on my goodreads goal. I LOVE Pride & Prejudice. I’ve read it multiple times. I have to confess that Emma is my favorite Austen book, though.

    • Yes, it can be a lot of fun! Unfortunately I didn’t get my day of rest Sunday, and I was so exhausted I didn’t take long to fall asleep last night, so very little reading was accomplished, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

