Teaser Tuesday ~ Les Miserables

teaser free-clip-art

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Today my teaser is from ~ Les Miserables


les

Introducing one of the most famous characters in literature, Jean Valjean – the noble peasant imprisoned for stealing a loaf of bread. In Les Misérables Victor Hugo takes readers deep into the Parisian underworld, immerses them in a battle between good and evil, and carries them onto the barricades during the uprising of 1832.

Within his dramatic story are themes that capture the intellect and the emotions: crime and punishment, the relentless persecution of Valjean by Inspector Javert, the desperation of the prostitute Fantine, the amorality of the rogue Thénardier and the universal desire to escape the prisons of our own minds. Les Misérables gave Victor Hugo a canvas upon which he portrayed his criticism of the French political and judicial systems, but the portrait which resulted is larger than life, epic in scope – an extravagant spectacle that dazzles the senses even as it touches the heart.

This is from 3 % in my kindle.

“But, Monseigneur, there is a band of them! A flock of wolves!”
“Monsieur le maire, it may be that it is of this very flock of wolves that Jesus has constituted me the shepherd. Who knows the ways of Providence?”

This is one of the classics I’m working my way through right now. I started it some time ago and put it down, but a friend convinced me to pick it back up saying the latter parts were worth the beginning boring stuff. I’m already glad I did although I’m still just 5% into the book. It’s a LONG book! It’s full of lots of goodness, though. This particular quote spoke to me because I don’t know how many times I haven’t done what I wanted to do out of fear. Most of the time that fear is completely unfounded, too, like it would have turned out to be in this man’s case.

I’m looking forward to your teasers today!

Happy Reading,

Alison

8 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday ~ Les Miserables

Leave a Reply

