Review ~ A Date With the Devil

A Date of the Devil

A Date of the Devil

Title: A Date With the Devil

Author: Kira Adams

Publication Date: Contemporary Romance

Genre: May 31, 2015

The Monster.

In one moment, my entire life was ripped away from me. I ignored the warning signs until it was too late. Until I became the victim.

He took my life away from me; my freedom, my courage. I’ve lived my life in debilitating fear since that fateful day.

The Savior.

He was there the day it all went down, and he’s been by my side ever since. He’s been the only thing that’s kept me going.

He’s my best friend, but he wants more. I’m terrified to lose him. I’m terrified he’ll leave.

One tried to kill me.

One brought me back to life.

I’ll never be the same person again–that girl died when the match was dropped. Too much has already been stolen from me.

It’s time to take back what’s mine.

Goodreads * Amazon

My ***3.5*** Star Review

Let me start with my own misconception here. Somehow I thought the “Monster” and the “Savior” were going to be the same guy. I was wrong. I’m not even sure what gave me the idea to think this, except maybe the cliché of it. I’ve been reading lots of stories lately where this would have fit. Anyways. There’s a really bad guy and the good guy.

Let me start with the bad dude. He’s a really, REALLY bad dude. I’m talking crazy. The book starts out giving you a glimpse into extreme domestic violence. It’s ugly. Not for the faint of heart. However, it’s short lived.

Enter good guy, Tyson. Tyson has been there for Bryce since the night of the brutal attack. He becomes the best friend while Bryce recovers. Her attack was so devastatingly brutal, though, that she doesn’t even want to step outside.

This story picks up about a year after the ill-fated night of the attack. You’ll get glimpses of both the past and the present. Some tough issues are dealt with in this story, but ultimately I would call this a love story. It’s a short and quick read that kept me constantly flipping the pages.

So, what did I not like? I’ll warn you that this will be spoilerish, but I’m not sharing how it all wraps up. Up to this point, I’ve really just clarified the synopsis and expounded just a little. Okay. So my yuck with this story is Tyson. In the very beginning I LOVED him. I thought the story was heading to a wonderful best friends to lovers tale. But, not very long after meeting Tyson he decides to lean in for a kiss that is rejected. He pretty much decides to have a hissy fit and avoid her. It’s the whole I can’t be your friend when I’m in love with you. This works in a lot of stories – stories where you’ve been along for the ride a while and you get the passion. Unfortunately you aren’t getting much of the friendship to understand his feelings. Then he rushes to fill her spot, which really had me questioning how much he actually cared for her at all.

Ultimately, I think some will really enjoy the story and others will be like me and find fault in Tyson. I wasn’t in love with this one, but I’d definitely try another Kira Adams story as I enjoyed her writing style and she kept me interested.

Happy Reading,

Alison

One thought on “Review ~ A Date With the Devil

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 6/7/15 | Ali's Books

Leave a Reply

