Three Mini Reviews

I’m slowly trying to catch up my NetGalley reviews. I’m trying to get my percentage up. It’s currently pretty pathetic at 58%. At least I’m getting out more reviews than I’m taking right now.

burning

2.5 stars ~

I really struggled getting into this book. It seemed to just drag on for me without any excitement. I finally started getting into it at the point that a certain romantic entanglement took place, but then the story would veer off in a different direction and I’d be bored again. To complement the author, I’d say that she pulled off a rather dynamic plot with lots of different angles. Unfortunately for me, I just got annoyed with the characters and found myself not caring.
*I received a copy via NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press: Minotaur Books in exchange for an honest review.*

Goodreads * Amazon

3.5 Stars ~

It took a little while for me to get into this one. Then I vacillated between enjoyment and boredom for most of the book. The last 30% kept my full attention, though.

Mostly I found myself getting bored when Aaron & Sadie weren’t together. I really enjoyed their dialogue together, but there just wasn’t nearly enough for me. Overall, I would have liked the story if there were more moments with the two of them together. I wanted to feel a little more connection between them.

There was one exciting twist towards the end that amped things up a bit. But, then it ends rather abruptly. I guess it’s a good sign that I wanted more, though. Other than that, the kindle edition could use a bit more editing.

warning: strong language

Goodreads * Amazon

me

3.5 stars ~
I didn’t feel a strong connection between Callum & Lilah. The two characters do their best to hide their feelings from each other, and they did such a good job that I didn’t feel it. I had a hard time getting into the story because I didn’t connect with it. I’m not one to DNF a book, though, so I slowly trudged through.

But, then the ending was absolutely amazing. It was powerful, so powerful that I might not have been able to handle it if I had connected more strongly to Lilah & Callum.

That being said, if I would have felt half of what I felt at the end throughout the rest of the story, then this book would have been amazing.
*I received a copy via NetGalley & Bookouture in exchange for an honest review.*

Goodreads * Amazon

Happy Reading,

Alison

5 thoughts on “Three Mini Reviews

  1. I’m glad Me without you was more powerful near the end, maybe the author will write a totally powerful book next time !

  2. It’s so hard sometimes to keep up with the ARCs, I have such a hard time resisting to request more books all the time 🙂
    I’m glad two of these were good enough – especially towards the end – to make you want to read more by the authors.
    Those books that just drag are so had to continue with. I didn’t use to DNF before, but I have started doing it – if I don’t enjoy anything at all, I want to find something else that might be a hit with me instead.
    I hope you’re having a fabulous week, Ali!

Leave a Reply

