Winterwood ~ Review

Ali here ~

Title: Winterwood
Series: N/A
Author: Shea Ernshaw
Release Date: Nov. 5, 2019
Genres: YA Fantasy/Romance
Blurb:

From New York Times bestselling author of The Wicked Deep comes a haunting romance perfect for fans of Practical Magic, where dark fairy tales and enchanted folklore collide after a boy, believed to be missing, emerges from the magical woods—and falls in love with the witch determined to unravel his secrets.

Be careful of the dark, dark wood…

Especially the woods surrounding the town of Fir Haven. Some say these woods are magical. Haunted, even.

Rumored to be a witch, only Nora Walker knows the truth. She and the Walker women before her have always shared a special connection with the woods. And it’s this special connection that leads Nora to Oliver Huntsman—the same boy who disappeared from the Camp for Wayward Boys weeks ago—and in the middle of the worst snowstorm in years. He should be dead, but here he is alive, and left in the woods with no memory of the time he’d been missing.

But Nora can feel an uneasy shift in the woods at Oliver’s presence. And it’s not too long after that Nora realizes she has no choice but to unearth the truth behind how the boy she has come to care so deeply about survived his time in the forest, and what led him there in the first place. What Nora doesn’t know, though, is that Oliver has secrets of his own—secrets he’ll do anything to keep buried, because as it turns out, he wasn’t the only one to have gone missing on that fateful night all those weeks ago.

For as long as there have been fairy tales, we have been warned to fear what lies within the dark, dark woods and in Winterwood, New York Times bestselling author Shea Ernshaw, shows us why.

Amazon | Goodreads

*****What I Enjoyed*****

  • Intriguing prologue that left me wanting more
  • Mysterious
  • I could relate to Nora – especially in how she took care of herself while her mom did her own thing.
  • Oliver! Once he comes into the picture, everything is more interesting. I really enjoyed the sweet and cautious chemistry between Nora and Oliver. They both seem innocent with the potential for evil. It was an interesting contrast. Neither could trust the other which added to the intrigue.
  • Oliver’s protectiveness towards Nora!
  • A surprising side character. She didn’t behave how I expected her to.

*****What I Didn’t Enjoy*****

  • The ending had chunks that were a bit predictable. But otherwise no real complaints.

This is one of those stories that I found completely satisfying. It wasn’t a book that I’d go around telling everyone they have to read it, but it was still a very pleasant read. And, I enjoyed it enough to add Shea’s first book to my TBR. 4 Stars!!

Challenges: Popsugar, Wizarding World Tour, 20 in 20, A to Z Reading Challenge, Goodreads 

Have you read Winterwood or The Wicked Deep? What did you think? Have a recommendation for me?

Happy Reading,

Ali

6 thoughts on “Winterwood ~ Review

  1. Pingback: 2020 A to Z Reading Challenge June Update | Our Book Boyfriends

  2. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 1/19/20 | Our Book Boyfriends

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.