Unite Me ~ Review

Ali here ~

Title: Unite Me
Series: Shatter Me #1.5 & # 2.5
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Release Date: Feb 4, 2014
Genres: YA Sci/Fi/Dystopian/Romance
Blurb: Perfect for fans of Tahereh Mafi’s New York Times bestselling Shatter Me trilogy, this audiobook collects her two companion novellas, Fracture Me and Destroy Me, for the first time in audio. It also features an exclusive look into Juliette’s journal and a preview of Ignite Me, the third installment of the series.

Destroy Me tells the events between Shatter Me and Unravel Me from Warner’s point of view. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can’t stop thinking about her–and he’ll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.

Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective and bridges the gap between Unravel Me and Ignite Me. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam’s more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam cares about.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent and The Hunger Games. This captivating story, which combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, was praised as a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love by Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

Amazon | Goodreads

*****My Review*****

 

*WARNING* ~ This review is a bit spoilerish.

  • Loved getting Warren’s POV!
  • Hated the change in Adam’s character. I would expect him to be changing, but in the fashion that he changed and the extent.
  • It felt like Mafi was destroying Adam’s character a bit to make us not want Juliette with Adam, and that totally wasn’t necessary. I already wanted her with Warren, and even if I didn’t, it was already apparent that something was growing there.
  • I was still sucked in immediately and despite being highly annoyed, I still couldn’t put it down.

Overall I didn’t like the direction the story is headed in. But, I’m still totally sucked into the world and these characters. The writing style is unique and I enjoy it, but I didn’t like the change in personality that Adam went through with this. 3.5 Stars is the best I can do here.

Challenges: Finishing the Series, Beat the Backlist, Wizarding World Tour, A to Z Reading Challenge, Goodreads

Have you read Unite Me? Or do you plan to? Does it drive you crazy when a character seems to go through a character change to assist the plot?

Happy Reading,

Alison

11 thoughts on “Unite Me ~ Review

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ 2/23/20 | Our Book Boyfriends

  2. I’m sorry to hear this took a direction you didn’t like. I’ve been on the fence about reading this series and this makes me lean toward maybe not starting it, especially since I have so many other books piled up waiting to read, lol.

    Like

  3. Getting Warner’s POV was everything. But I agree that Mafi really had Adam’s character do a 180 in order to pave the way for a Juliette + Warner pairing. She really took the easy way out there.

    Like

    • Yes, and I totally think the character change was unnecessary. I think she was wanting us to not hate Juliette over the disconnect between her and Adam, but it could have been handled so much better.

      Like

  4. Character development is important to me but I want it to be consistent with who they have been throughout the series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.