Winterwood ~ Review

Ali here ~

Title: Winterwood
Series: N/A
Author: Shea Ernshaw
Release Date: Nov. 5, 2019
Genres: YA Fantasy/Romance
Blurb:

From New York Times bestselling author of The Wicked Deep comes a haunting romance perfect for fans of Practical Magic, where dark fairy tales and enchanted folklore collide after a boy, believed to be missing, emerges from the magical woods—and falls in love with the witch determined to unravel his secrets.

Be careful of the dark, dark wood…

Especially the woods surrounding the town of Fir Haven. Some say these woods are magical. Haunted, even.

Rumored to be a witch, only Nora Walker knows the truth. She and the Walker women before her have always shared a special connection with the woods. And it’s this special connection that leads Nora to Oliver Huntsman—the same boy who disappeared from the Camp for Wayward Boys weeks ago—and in the middle of the worst snowstorm in years. He should be dead, but here he is alive, and left in the woods with no memory of the time he’d been missing.
Continue reading

Jan. 2020 Challenges Update ~ Part 1

I decided to break down my challenge updates each month in the same manner that I signed up for them. Tomorrow Part 2 of my challenge updates will be posted. We’re only just starting the new year, but I still wanted to go ahead and get in the habit of posting these updates in the middle of each month. Let’s see if I’ve made any progress yet.


Continue reading

WWW Wednesday ~ 1/15/20

Ali here ~

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme is hosted by Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

 

Continue reading

Blogger Recognition Award

Thanks so very much to Blogger Books for the nomination!! Sorry it took me soooo long to post this. December was a crazy busy month!! If you aren’t already familiar with Blogger Books, please check out the site and send a shout out from me!!

Rules:

  1. Thank the blogger/s who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  2. Write a post to show your award.
  3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  5. Select up to 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
  6. Comment (or pingback) on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.
  7. Continue reading

#IMWAYR ~ 1/13/20

Ali here ~

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at The Book Date. Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Continue reading

Quips & Quotes 1/12/20

I LOVE keeping track of quotes that speak to me. Some turn me to mush. Some are profound and make me think. Some are just funny or entertaining. I often include a quote or two in my reviews, but I thought it would be fun to start a weekly post sharing my favorites from the previous week. So, without further ado, here’s my Quips & Quotes ~


Continue reading